This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Missouri State University


Parking at Northwest

Parking Permit | Visitor Parking | Policies | Fines | Parking Map | Printable Map

Parking Permit

Students and Faculty/Staff must now register their vehicle online via CatPaws before picking up their permit at the Administration building, Student Services Desk. Forest Village Apartment permits and motorcycle/scooter permits are also available to register online and pick up at the Administration building.

Permit costs are as follows:

Semester Permit was Purchased

Fall

Spring

Summer

Student Sticker

90.00

70.00

50.00

Student Hangtag

115.00

95.00

75.00

Faculty/Staff Sticker

90.00

70.00

50.00

Faculty/Staff Hangtag

115.00

95.00

75.00

Motorcycle

50.00

50.00

30.00

Visitor and Temporary Parking

Visitors Parking On Campus

We welcome all visitors to campus and request that all faculty, staff and students who are receiving guests on campus please make arrangements to obtain a free Visitor parking pass for your guest(s) before they arrive on campus. Guests are defined as anyone who is not a current student, faculty or staff. Visitor permits are available:

  • in person at University Police (open 24/7) 
  • via email by contacting University Police at police@nwmissouri.edu

Prospective students and their family can obtain a Visitor permit at the Mabel Cook Admissions Building.

There is directional signage on campus to assist with locating the above buildings.

Temporary Parking

Temporary parking permits are available to everyone that has purchased a parking permit for the current year. The permits are to be used when you have driven a vehicle that does not have a current permit on it. Temporary permits are available:

  • in person at University Police (open 24/7) 
  • in person at the Cashiering Department on the first floor of the Administration Building (8 a.m. - 4 p.m., Monday - Friday)

Parking and Traffic Policies

Statement of Policies

Northwest University Police Officers enforce violations of Missouri’s general motor vehicle laws and University traffic policies that occur on campus property.

A Northwest Missouri State University parking permit is required to park on campus. The purchase and display of a valid parking permit does not guarantee a specific parking space. It is the sole responsibility of the vehicle driver to locate a valid parking space. These regulations are applicable to all members of the University community, which shall include, but is not limited to, students, faculty, staff, visitors, and vendors.

Traffic and Parking enforcement is conducted 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, and 365 days a year.

  1. General

    1. A vehicle is defined as a motorized means of transportation that is licensed by the state (if applicable) and must adhere to all state and campus regulations.
    2. Anyone who utilizes University parking facilities, including but not limited to, faculty, staff, students and visitors must have a current Northwest parking permit visible and properly displayed and shall be responsible for the registered vehicle and any citation(s) issued to that vehicle.
    3. The University shall assume no liability or responsibility for any vehicle parked on campus property.
    4. Motorcycles and scooters are subject to the regulation governing motor vehicles.
    5. The owner of a disabled vehicle located in a parking lot shall notify the University Police Office within 30 minutes of the disability or the vehicle is subject to be towed and/or ticketed at the owner’s expense. The owner of a disabled vehicle parked improperly shall be responsible for moving the vehicle within 24 hours. A disabled vehicle on the roadway must be moved as soon as a wrecker or other appropriate means can be employed.
    6. Any repairs made to vehicles which will create a nuisance, safety hazard, or cause property damage shall not be performed on campus. Violators are subject to revocation of parking privileges and permit.
    7. Commuter students or employees who wish to register more than one vehicle shall be issued a hang tag. Multiple permits will not be issued, except with motorcycles, scooters, and/or apartment permit holders.
    8. Anyone who needs temporary parking for a trailer should contact University Police to make appropriate arrangements.
    9. A red curb and/or sign designates a loading zone. All loading zones have a 15-minute parking limit. Curbs painted yellow are no parking zones. Docks are not for general loading and unloading; they are designed for commercial deliveries.
    10. Warning violations will be issued the first 3 days of classes of each trimester to vehicles without permits and that have not been previously issued a parking citation. Exceptions are handicap spaces, loading zones and unauthorized parking areas.
    11. A Northwest parking permit is required in order to utilize University parking facilities.
    12. A vehicle shall be registered to one person only.
    13. Unless specific arrangements have been made with the appropriate department head, no student or employee shall utilize his or her personally owned vehicle for University business.
    14. Northwest has six locations within (Lot 59 and Lot 20) parking lots for charging of electric vehicles. All vehicles that are not able to receive a charge from determined locations are prohibited from using the area.
  2. Visitors

    1. A visitor is a campus guest who is not a current student or employee of the University.
    2. Visitors may park in any visitor, resident, commuter, or faculty/staff parking space on campus after obtaining and displaying a visitor permit on their vehicle.
    3. Visitor permits may be obtained prior to parking on campus by registering at the Cashiering Office in room 111 of the Administration Building on the first floor of the Administration Building during office hours or at the University Police Department
      in the Support Services Building 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, and 365 days a year.
    4. A host, whether student, employee or organization, may obtain a visitor parking permit for their guest(s) by registering the vehicle of their guest(s) at the University Police Department before the guest(s) arrive on campus. The host will need the name, contact information, and vehicle information of their guest(s).
    5. Event coordinators shall request visitor permits from the University Police Department at least two weeks in advance of the event.
    6. Visitor parking permits are valid for a maximum of three (3) days unless otherwise specified by University Police.
  3. Operation of Vehicle

    1. Observe all campus traffic and parking signs. Posted signs shall supersede this written policy.
    2. The maximum speed limit on campus is 20 mph and 15 mph in parking lots unless otherwise posted. Violators are subject to University citation.
    3. State and city motor vehicle and traffic laws are included in the University’s motor vehicle regulations governing the use of vehicles on the University’s campus.
    4. No one is permitted to drive around or over any barricade erected to control traffic or parking, or to alter, deface, remove or destroy any traffic or parking control device.
    5. A vehicle operator shall comply with instructions given by a University Police Officer (voice, gesture, or whistle).
    6. Vehicles shall not be parked against the flow of traffic.
    7. Vehicles may not drive on sidewalks unless approved by University Police.
  4. Parking Areas

    1. Resident student parking is permitted only in areas designated as “resident student parking.” A resident parking permit is required in those areas. A resident is defined as a student who is assigned to University housing.
    2. Resident parking is restricted daily from midnight through 5 p.m. and a resident parking permit shall be required.
    3. Commuter student parking is permitted only in areas designated for “commuter student parking.” A displayed permit is required in these areas. A commuter student is defined as a student who resides off campus and commutes to the University for classes.
    4. Faculty/Staff and Commuter student parking is restricted 7 a.m.–5 p.m., Monday through Friday, unless otherwise posted.
    5. Faculty and Staff parking is permitted only in areas designated as “Faculty and Staff parking.” A faculty/staff permit is required in these areas.
    6. Only vehicles with a state issued handicapped reserve license plate or hang tag shall park in designated physically disabled spaces. A Northwest parking permit is also required.
    7. No vehicle shall display more than one current parking permit, unless the owner resides in Northwest apartment housing.
    8. Only those designated people will use spaces that are specifically designated by a sign. These areas shall be reserved 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
    9. Motorcycles and scooters shall park in areas designated for motorcycles and scooters by signage and lot striping. All motorcycles and scooters must display a valid Northwest motorcycle/scooter parking permit to park on campus.
    10. Forrest Village Apartments (Lot 32) prohibits parking between midnight and 5 p.m. daily unless stated by signage within the lot.
  5. Restricted Parking

    1. Northwest parking lots and spaces may be restricted for University events and/or other purposes. (For instance, lot 59 is restricted for home football games.)
    2. All vehicles not moved from restricted parking lots or spaces within the allotted timeframe may be cited and towed at the owners’ expense.
  6. Permits

    1. All Northwest parking permits are available at the Cashiering Office, located in room 111 of the Administration Building. Temporary and visitor parking permits are also available at University Police, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year.
    2. All academic permits expire on August 31 of each year. If employment or resident status changes prior to August 31, the permit holder shall be responsible for returning the permit to the Cashiering Office to exchange for an appropriate permit or
      refund (pro-rated). For example, if an employee terminates his/her full-time employment, but maintains enrollment as a student, the employee permit shall be returned to the Cashiering Office and exchanged for a student permit or refund.
    3. Temporary parking permits are available free of charge for any valid permit holder who brings a different vehicle to campus other than their original registered vehicle. Temporary permits are valid for a maximum of two (2) weeks. Please contact University Police if an extension of two (2) weeks is necessary.
    4. If your student status changes at any time through out the academic year, you may exchange your current parking permit free of charge at the Cashiering Office to reflect your change in status.
    5. No refunds will be issued for parking permits reported lost or stolen. The permit owner shall be responsible for purchasing a replacement permit. Lost or stolen permits shall be reported immediately to University Police. Failure to properly report a lost or stolen permit could result in the owner of the permit being responsible for any or all citations issued to the permit.
    6. No one shall register a vehicle on campus belonging to another individual without permission of the legally registered owner of the vehicle.
    7. A parking permit shall only be displayed on the vehicle to which it is registered.
    8. Parking permits not properly displayed in the vehicle shall be subject to citation for failure to properly display a permit.
    9. Students who work part-time for the University as staff members are not entitled to a staff permit.
  7. Special Permits

    1. Anyone who is not a University student or employee who uses on-campus services for more than three (3) days must purchase a non-academic parking permit from the Cashiering Office. Call 660.562.1444 for pricing.
    2. All vendors and contractors are required to register their vehicles and obtain a parking pass at the University Police Department.
    3. University parking facilities are restricted to use by those who participate in University functions, activities or business on campus.
  8. Display of Permit in Vehicle

    1. Sticker style parking permits are to be completely affixed to the lower portion of the passenger side windshield in plain view, with the permit number visible, and by its own adhesive.
    2. Hang tag style permits and visitor permits shall be hung on the rear view mirror of the vehicle being used that day with the information clearly visible through the windshield.
    3. Motorcycle and scooter permits are to be affixed in plain view, with the number visible.
  9. Replacement of Parking Permits

    1. A permit holder who becomes ineligible for parking privileges must remove the permit and provide it to University Police.
    2. When transferring a vehicle, before a no-charge replacement permit will be issued, the old permit must be presented at the Cashiering Office. If you are unable to recover the permit for any reason, any of the following will be accepted as proof the permit is not recoverable:
      1. a copy of the bill of sale
      2. transfer of title
      3. accident report indicating the windshield was damaged or the vehicle was totaled
      4. any other appropriate documentation
  10. Payment of Fines

    1. Fines shall be paid to the Bursar's Office in the Administration Building.
    2. All citations issued are subject to billing through the Bursar’s Office.
    3. Failure to pay fines may result in withholding of transcripts, class registration, and/or formal collection efforts.
  11. Appeals

    1. If a visitor, student, staff, or faculty member believes the citation was issued in error, he/she has the right to appeal to the Traffic and Parking Appeals Committee. This appeal must be received in University Police office within five (5) days of receipt of the citation or billing notice (issued by the University Bursar's Office). Late appeals may not be considered. Appeal forms are available online at the University Police website. The appellant shall be notified of the committee's decision via email.
  12. Revocation

    1. The University Police Department may suspend or revoke a driver’s parking privileges when violations exceed 12 during the permit year (Sept. 1–Aug. 31).
    2. All revocations made by the University Police Department shall be effective for the remainder of the permit year in which the revocation order is issued, or as otherwise noted.
    3. Student Affairs may revoke parking privileges through the Student-Faculty Discipline Committee.
    4. Payment or appeal of any traffic citation does not exempt one from the standard revocation procedure.
  13. Towing and Immobilization Policy

    1. Vehicles may be towed or immobilized for the following reasons:
      1. parking on campus after a permit has been revoked
      2. accumulation of 12 or more violations per vehicle within the permit year
      3. blocking fire lanes or fire hydrants
      4. obstruction of pedestrian or traffic lanes or creating a hazard
      5. abandoned vehicle
      6. blocking loading zones
      7. blocking or impeding snow removal
      8. parking in a handicap designated area
      9. parking in a reserved or blocked off area
      10. not properly displaying campus registration
      11. when University Police personnel deem towing or immobilization necessary for safety, security or any campus operation

N. Traffic Enforcement

  1. University Police Officers will enforce violations of Missouri’s general motor vehicle laws or University policy that occur on its campus roads in accordance with Missouri Revised Statutes, HB 307, Sections 174.703.2, 174.709, and 174.712, Such violations will have the same effect as though such had occurred on Maryville city streets. Citations will be issued and collected upon through Northwest and the Missouri Division II court.

 

Parking and Traffic Fines

Parking Violations

1. Parking in a handicap reserved space $100
2. Parking by a fire hydrant or in a fire lane $50
3. Parking on grass $50
4. Removing, altering, or destroying a parking control device (plus cost of repairs) $50
5. Parking in a loading zone (red lines or curbs) $30
6. Parking in "no parking" zone (yellow lines or curbs) $30
7. Parking on roadways or crosswalks $50
8. Parking on curb or sidewalk $50
9. Parking in a reserved area $30
10. Parking which creates a safety hazard $50
11. Failure to register or display a permit (hang tag or sticker) $30
12. Failure to properly display permit (hang tag or sticker) $30
13. Failure to report change of vehicle $30
14. Towing $100
15. Other $50

Traffic Violations

16. Too fast for conditions $50
17. Failure to observe traffic control device $50
18. Wrong way on one-way street $50
19. Failure to stop or obey University Police officer $50
20. Careless driving - Specific Act $50
21. Driving on sidewalk or grass (plus cost of repairs) $50
22. Illegal U-turn $50
23. Speeding $50
24. Other $50