This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Missouri State University


Calendars and Dates

Spring 2019 | Summer 2019 | Fall 2019 | Academic Calendar

Spring 2019 Important Dates

Dec 19, 2018 -
Jan 14, 2019
ONLINE VERIFICATION AVAILABLE
Jan 11 Fri Textbook Pickup - The Station 1 p.m. - 4 p.m.
Jan 11 Fri General Registration (1:30 p.m. - 3:30 p.m.)
Jan 13 Sun Textbook Pickup - The Station 1 p.m. - 5 p.m.
Jan 14 Mon Classes begin
Textbook Pickup - The Station - 8 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Degree applications (Spring) to be filed with Registrar's Office or Graduate Office
Supersede Petitions (undergraduate students) due on CatPAWS or in Registrar's Office 
Petitions to Supersede (graduate students) due in Graduate Office
Jan 15 Tue Last date to add or enroll in a first-block course
Jan 18 Fri Last date to establish credit by departmental test-out and
receive 100% refund
Jan 20 Sun Late registration ends
Last date to add or enroll in a semester course
Jan 21 Mon Martin Luther King Day, no classes
Jan 24 Thu Last date to place a first-block course on pass/fail
Last date to change a first-block course to audit
Feb 1 Fri Last date to change a semester course to audit
Feb 18 Mon 5-Week Grade Assessments due by 10 a.m.
Feb 20 Wed Last date to drop a first-block course
Feb 25 Mon Last date to place a semester course on pass/fail
Feb 25-Mar 1 Mon-Fri Mid-term examinations
Mar 1 Fri First block ends
Mar 4 Mon Mid-term deficiency grades due to Registrar by 10 a.m.
Second block begins
Mar 5 Tue Last date to add or enroll in a second-block course
Mar 13 Wed Last date to place a second-block course on pass/fail
Last date to change a second-block course to audit
Mar 18 Mon Preregistration for Summer and Fall 2019 begins
Mar 25-29 Mon-Fri Spring Break
Apr 1 Mon 11-Week Grade Assessments due by 10 a.m.
Apr 8 Mon Last date to drop a semester course
Apr 8 Mon Last date to withdraw from the University
Apr 17 Wed Last date to drop a second-block course
Apr 26 Fri Classwork ends
Second block ends
Apr 29-May 3 Mon-Fri Final Exams
May 3 Fri Undergraduate incomplete grades from Fall 2018 due in Registrar's Office
Last date to return textbooks to Textbook Services
May 4 Sat Semester Ends
Commencement
May 6 Mon Final grades due in Registrar's Office by 10 a.m.

Summer 2019 Important Dates

June 10 Mon Degree Applications for Summer Graduation due in Registrar's Office or Graduate Office
Aug 5 Mon Campus Classes Grades due at 10 a.m.
Aug 16 Fri Official Graduation Date (Semester end)
Aug 19 Mon 7-Week Online Classes Grades Due at 10:00 a.m.
Aug 20 Tue Target Date for Posting ALL Summer Grades to Transcripts
 

Off Schedule Class Dates

Dropping Courses: A student may drop designated Off-Schedule Course during the first 80% of the length of the Off-Schedule Course.  Off-Schedule Courses must be dropped by completing forms in the Registrar's Office.  Off-Schedule Courses cannot be dropped on CatPAWS once the course has started.

Withdrawal: If a student is only enrolled in one course that is designated as Off-Schedule, the student may withdraw from the University before 80% of the length of the course has expired.  A "W" will be recorded on the transcript for the Off-Schedule course.

Refunds for Off-Schedule Courses: Off-Schedule and varying length course drop and withdrawal refund dates are prorated according to the actual length of the course and do not follow the schedules below.

1st Block Dates

May 9 - May 13 Online Verification Available
May 10 Fri Textbook Pickup for preregistered students -- The Station from 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.
May 13 Mon 1st Block begins
Registration begins in Admissions Office
Supersede Petitions (undergraduate students) due on CatPAWS or in Registrar's Office
Petitions to supersede (graduate students) due in Graduate Office
Last date to enroll or add a 1st Block course
May 14 Tue Last date to establish credit by departmental test-out for a 1st Block course
May 17 Fri Last date to place a 1st Block course on audit
Last date to place a 1st Block course on pass/fail
May 27 Mon Memorial Day - no classes
June 3 Mon Last date to drop a 1st Block course
June 3 Mon Last date to withdraw from 1st Block
June 7 Fri 1st Block ends

2nd Block Dates

May 9 - June 10 Online Verification Available
June 10 Mon 2nd Block begins
Registration begins in Admissions Office
Supersede Petitions (undergraduate students) due on CatPAWS or in Registrar's Office
Petitions to supersede (graduate students) due in Graduate Office
Last date to enroll or add a 2nd Block course
June 11 Tue Last date to establish credit by departmental test-out for a 2nd Block course
June 14 Fri Last date to place a 2nd Block course on audit
Last date to place a 2nd Block course on pass/fail
June 27 Thu Last date to drop a 2nd Block course
June 27 Thu Last date to withdraw from 2nd Block
July 3 Wed 2nd Block ends

3rd Block Dates

May 9 - July 8 Online Verification Available
July 8 Mon 3rd Block begins
Registration begins in Admissions Office
Supersede Petitions (undergraduate students) due on CatPAWS or in Registrar's Office
Petitions to supersede (graduate students) due in Graduate Office
Last date to enroll or add a 3rd Block course
July 9 Tue Last date to establish credit by departmental test-out for a 3rd Block course
July 12 Fri Last date to place a 3rd Block course on audit
Last date to place a 3rd Block course on pass/fail
July 29 Mon Last date to drop a 3rd Block course
July 29 Mon Last date to withdraw from 3rd Block
Aug 2 Fri 3rd Block ends

1&2 Block Dates (8 weeks)

May 9 - May 14 Online Verification Available
May 13 Mon 1&2 Block (8-week) classes begin
Registration begins in Admissions Office
Supersede Petitions (undergraduate students) due on CatPAWS or in Registrar's Office
Petitions to supersede (graduate students) due in Graduate Office
May 14 Tue Last date to enroll or add a 1&2 Block course
May 15 Wed Last date to establish credit by departmental test-out for a 1&2 Block course
May 22 Wed Last date to place a 1&2 Block course on audit
Last date to place a 1&2 Block course on pass/fail
May 27 Mon Memorial Day - no classes
June 24 Mon Last date to drop a 1&2 Block course
June 24 Mon Last date to withdraw from 1&2 Block course
July 3 Wed 1&2 Block courses end

2&3 Block Dates

May 9 - June 11 Online Verification Available
June 10 Mon 2&3 Block (8-week) classes begin
Registration begins in Admissions Office
Supersede Petitions (undergraduate students) due on CatPAWS or in Registrar's Office
Petitions to supersede (graduate students) due in Graduate Office
June 11 Tue Last date to enroll or add a 2&3 Block course
June 12 Wed Last date to establish credit by departmental test-out for a 2&3 Block course
June 19 Wed Last date to place a 2&3 Block course on audit
Last date to place a 2&3 Block course on pass/fail
July 4 Thu Independence Day Holiday - no classes
July 23 Tue Last date to drop a 2&3 Block course
July 23 Tue Last date to withdraw from 2&3 Block course
Aug 2 Fri 2&3 Block courses end

7W1 Block Dates  (7-Week Block 1)

May 9 - May 14 Online Verification Available
May 13 Mon 7-Week Block 1 Online classes begin
Registration begins in Admissions Office
Supersede Petitions (undergraduate students) due on CatPAWS or in Registrar's Office
Petitions to supersede (graduate students) due in Graduate Office
May 14 Tue Last date to enroll or add a 7-Wk Block 1 course
May 15 Wed Last date to establish credit by departmental test-out for a 7-Wk Block 1 course
May 22 Wed Last date to place a 7-Wk Block 1 course on audit
Last date to place a 7-Wk Block 1 course on pass/fail
May 27 Mon Memorial Day - no classes
June 19 Wed Last date to drop a 7-Wk Block 1 course
June 19 Wed Last date to withdraw from 7-Wk Block 1 course
June 28 Fri 7-Wk Block 1 courses end

7W2 Block Dates (7-Week Block 2)

May 9 - July 2 Online Verification Available
July 1 Mon 7-Week Block 2 Online classes begin
Registration begins in Admissions Office
Supersede Petitions (undergraduate students) due on CatPAWS or in Registrar's Office
Petitions to supersede (graduate students) due in Graduate Office
July 2 Tue Last date to enroll or add a 7-Wk Block 2 course
July 3 Wed Last date to establish credit by departmental test-out for a 7-Wk Block 2 course
July 4 Thu Independence Day Holiday - no classes
July 11 Thu Last date to place a 7-Wk Block 2 course on audit
Last date to place a 7-Wk Block 2 course on pass/fail
Aug 7 Wed Last date to drop a 7-Wk Block 2 course
Aug 7 Wed Last date to withdraw from a 7-Wk Block 2 course
Aug 16 Fri 7-Week Block 2 courses end

Full Semester (12-Weeks) Dates

May 9 - May 16 Online Verification Available
May 13 Mon Full Summer Semester (12-week) classes begin 
Registration begins in Admissions Office
Supersede Petitions (undergraduate students) due on CatPAWS or in Registrar's Office
Petitions to supersede (graduate students) due in Graduate Office
May 16 Thu Last date to enroll or add a semester course
Last date to establish credit by departmental test-out for a semester course
May 24 Fri Last date to place a semester course on audit
May 24 Fri Last date to place a semester course on pass/fail
May 27 Mon Memorial Day - no classes
July 4 Thu Independence Day Holiday - no classes
July 18 Thu Last date to drop a semester course
July 18 Thu Last date to withdraw from a semester course
Aug 2 Fri Semester Campus classes end (12-week end)
Aug 5 Mon Campus Classes Grades due to Registrar by 10 am
Aug 16 Fri 7-Week Online Classes end
Aug 16 Fri Official Graduation Date
Aug 19 Mon 7-Week Online Classes Grades due to Registrar by 10 am

Fall 2019 Important Dates

Aug 16-21 Online Verification Available
Aug 17 Sat Textbook Pickup -- The Station, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Aug 18 Sun Textbook Pickup -- The Station, 2 p.m. - 5 p.m.
Aug 19 Mon Textbook Pickup -- The Station, 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Aug 20 Tue Textbook Pickup -- The Station, 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Aug 20 Tue General Registration -- Administration Building, 1 p.m. - 3 p.m.
Aug 21 Wed Classes begin
Textbook Pickup -- The Station, 8 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Degree applications (December) to be filed with Registrar's Office or Graduate Office
Supersede Petitions (undergraduate students) due on CatPAWS or in Registrar's Office
Petitions to supersede (graduate students) due in Graduate Office
Aug 22 Thu Last date to add or enroll in a first-block or 7-Wk Block 1 course
Aug 27 Tue Last date to establish credit by departmental test-out and receive 100% refund
Aug 27 Tue Last day to add or enroll in a semester course
Late registration ends
Aug 30 Fri Last date to place a first-block or 7-Wk Block 1 course on pass/fail
Last date to change a first-block or 7-Wk Block 1 course to audit
Sept 2 Mon Labor Day -- no classes
Sept 11 Wed Last date to change a semester course to audit
Sept 30 Mon 5-Week Grade Assessments due by 10 a.m.
Oct 1 Tue Last date to drop a first-block or 7-Wk Block 1 course
Oct 1 Tue Last date to withdraw from 7-Wk Block 1 course(s)  (when 7W1 courses ONLY)
Oct 2 Wed Last date to place a semester course on pass/fail
Oct 7-11 Mon-Fri Midterm examinations
Oct 11 Fri First block ends
Oct 11 Fri 7-Wk Block 1 ends
Oct 14 Mon Midterm Grades due by 10 a.m.
Oct 14 Mon Second block begins
Oct 15 Tue Last day to add or enroll in a second-block course
Oct 21 Mon Preregistration for Spring 2020 begins
Oct 21 Mon 7-Wk Block 2 begins
Oct 22 Tue Last date to enroll or add a 7-Wk Block 2 course
Oct 23 Wed Last date to place a second-block course on pass/fail
Last date to change a second-block course to audit
Oct 25 Fri Walkout Day
Oct 26 Sat Homecoming
Oct 30 Wed Last date to place a 7-Wk Block 2 course on pass/fail
Last date to place a 7-Wk Block 2 course on audit
Nov 4 Mon 11-Week Grade Assessments due by 10 am
Nov 11 Mon Last date to drop a semester course
Nov 11 Mon Last date to withdraw from the University
Nov 15 Fri Preregistration appointments for Spring 2020 end
Nov 20 Wed Last date to drop a second-block course
Nov 25-29 Mon-Fri Thanksgiving Break
Nov 28-29 Thu-Fri Thanksgiving Break (7-Week Online Classes Only)
Dec 3 Tue Last date to drop a 7-Wk Block 2 course
Dec 3 Tue Last date to withdraw from 7-Wk Block 2 course(s)  (when 7W2 courses ONLY)
Dec 6 Fri Classwork ends
Second Block ends
Dec 9-13 Mon-Fri Final Exams
Dec 13 Fri Semester Ends
7-Wk Block 2 courses end
Commencement
Undergraduate incomplete grades from Spring 2019 and Summer 2019 due in Registrar's Office
Dec 16 Mon Final Grades due by 10 a.m.