This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Missouri State University

Christa McAuliffe Award for Excellence in Teacher Education

Northwest Missouri State University joined a prestigious group of institutions of higher learning in fall 2006 when it was named a recipient of the Christa McAuliffe Award for Excellence in Teacher Education. The honor is bestowed on only two universities each year by the American Association of State College and Universities.

Given in recognition of "leadership and innovation in teacher education," the award is named in honor of the teacher who was killed in the 1986 space shuttle Challenger disaster.

The award recognizes Northwest for its value-added teacher preparation program, which is supported by quality-driven processes based on verifiable data collected by the College of Education and Human Services and used in decision-making at all levels.

Preparing outstanding educators has always been central to Northwest's mission - from it beginnings as a state normal school a century ago to its role today as a comprehensive public University.