This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Missouri State University


Academic Recovery Program

Per University policy, two courses are offered to assist in the Academic Recovery process including Academic Success Coaching (one-credit hour) and Strategies for Academic Success (one-credit hour).

The Strategies for Academic Success class (course number 77151) teaches students methods to perform successfully in class. Strategies include:

The Academic Success Coaching class (course number 77150) includes individualized appointments that provide students skills in the following:




Meet the Academic Success & Retention Team

Academic Advisors and Success Coaches

Julie Johnson

Julie Johnson
Academic Advisor and Success Coach

Garrett-Strong 2665
660.562.0836
jbest@nwmissouri.edu

Kenna Johnson

Kenna Johnson
Academic Advisor and Success Coach

101 Valk or 130/130A Wells
660.562.1154
kennaj@nwmissouri.edu

Brad Landhuis

Brad Landhuis
Academic Advisor and Success Coach

Hubbard Center 1213
660.562.1221
bradl@nwmissouri.edu

Sam Cole

Sam Cole
Academic Advisor and Success Coach

Owen Library 230
660.562.1876
scole@nwmissouri.edu

Kayla Etherton

Kayla Etherton
Academic Advisor and Success Coach

Colden Hall 2610
660.562.1458
kaylae@nwmissouri.edu 

Ashley Strickland

Ashley Strickland
Academic Advisor and Success Coach / Student Athlete Success Program Lead

Lamkin 135
660.562.1975
ashleyp@nwmissouri.edu 

Kelsey Lacy

Kelsey Lacy
Academic Advisor and Success Coach / Student Athlete Success Program (spring 2018)

Lamkin 135
660.562.1975

Academic Support, Orientation and Unit Staff

Kirk Skoglund

Kirk Skoglund
Assistant Director, Academic Support

229 Owens Library
Phone: 660.562.1223
kskog@nwmissouri.edu

Kat Falke

Kat Falke
Assistant Director, Orientation

230 Owens Library 
Phone: 660.562.1951
katd@nwmissouri.edu

Jennifer Pitts

Jennifer Pitts
Office Manager

230 Owens Library
Phone: 660.562.1726
jpitts@nwmissouri.edu

Academic Success & Retention Leadership

Allison Hoffmann

Allison Hoffmann
Director, Academic Success
and Retention

Owens Library 230
Phone: 660.562.1695
Email: 
astrong@nwmissouri.edu

Leslie Chandler

Leslie Chandler
Associate Director, Academic Success and Retention

Owens Library 230
Phone: 660.562.1695
Email: lchand@nwmissouri.edu