This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Missouri State University

State Authorization

About State Authorization | Online Courses | Internships/Practical Experiences

What is SARA?

What is State Authorization?

The State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement (SARA) is an agreement among member states, districts and territories that establishes comparable national standards for interstate offering of postsecondary distance education courses and programs. It is intended to make it easier for students to take online courses offered by postsecondary institutions based in another state. Practical Experiences (including internships and student teaching) are also included. Northwest Missouri State University is a member of both the national (NC SARA) and regional (MHEC) chapters of SARA.

Why is SARA important to Northwest students and faculty?

  • Northwest Online
    • Northwest needs permission to educate students (online) located outside the state of Missouri.
  • Practical Experiences
    • Northwest students need permission to participate in practical learning experiences (internships, work experience, student teaching, etc.) outside the state of Missouri.

How should Northwest students and faculty use SARA to ensure compliance?

  • Northwest Online
    • If students living in another state wish to enroll in an online program through Northwest Online they must first check to see if their state of residence is listed as a member of SARA or that Northwest Missouri State University has approval to work with a student from non-SARA member state.
  • Practical Experiences
    • If a Northwest student wishes to complete an internship, work experience, or student teaching they must first check to see if their target state is listed as a member of SARA or that Northwest Missouri State University has approval to work with students from non-SARA member states.

Online Courses through Northwest Online

States require that Northwest Missouri State University be authorized to deliver university-level distance/online education to their residents. Each state handles this process differently and Northwest is seeking authorization in most states.



Alabama OK
Alaska OK
Arizona OK
Arkansas OK
California OK
Colorado OK
Connecticut OK
Delaware OK
District of Columbia OK
Florida OK
Georgia OK
Hawaii OK
Idaho OK
Illinois OK
Indiana OK
Iowa OK
Kansas OK
Kentucky OK
Louisiana OK
Maine OK
Maryland OK
Massachusetts OK
Michigan OK
Minnesota OK
Mississippi OK
Missouri OK
Montana OK
Nebraska OK
Nevada OK
New Hampshire OK
New Jersey OK
New Mexico OK
New York OK
North Carolina OK
North Dakota OK
Ohio OK
Oklahoma OK
Oregon OK
Pennsylvania OK
Rhode Island OK
South Carolina OK
South Dakota OK
Tennessee OK
Texas OK
Utah OK
Vermont OK
Virginia OK
Washington OK
West Virginia OK
Wisconsin OK
Wyoming OK

Documents on file at LTC Office, OL 246.  Questions on State Authorization for Online Courses may be directed to 660.562.1532.


Comments or concerns? Please submit an online Comment Card »