A-Z Index

2021-2022 Committees

Executive Committee

Chair: Selena Foreman
Members: TBD, Gina Smith, Troy Brady, Anthony Christian

The Committee works in conjunction with the Assistant Vice President of Human Resources by driving conversations within the Council to reach a general consensus on decisions and issues. The members will not serve on additional Staff Council committees, unless specifically appointed. Members hold the following positions:

  • Committee Chair: The Chair serves as the administrator, who presides over all Council meetings and is responsible for meeting arrangements, agendas, and notices. This person reports to the Board of Regents and represents the council at Extended Leadership Team meetings.
  • Chair-Elect: The Chair-Elect serves as the backup for the Chair in his/her/their absence and is responsible for the overseeing the operating and scholarship budget as well as the communicating the Council’s spending activity and balance. This person coordinates with the Committee Secretary to monitor council attendance represents the council at Extended Leadership Team meetings.
  • Past Chair: The Past Chair serves a one-year position as an advisor to the Executive Committee.
  • Committee Secretary: The Secretary is responsible for creating the agendas and recording the meeting minutes as well as documenting the attendance at Staff Council meetings.
  • Communication Chair: The Communication Chair updates Northwest Online information, the Office of Human Resources’ newsletter, and the Staff Council social media sites and webpage.

The Executive committee seeks and appoints representatives to various committees for strategic and University operations as well as organizational structure support. The charged committees, which may change depending on the needs of this Committee and the approval of the rest of the Council, report back to the Executive Committee.

Those currently charged are as follows:

Employee Engagement and Recognition Committee

Chair: Melissa Chesnut / Colin McDonough (Co-Chairs)
Members: Barbara Weybrew, Amanda Dempsey, Ryan Milke, Beth Russo, Sierra Rains, Kala Dixon

Responsibilities Charged

  • Assisting with planning actions for the employee satisfaction survey
  • Coordinating with the Office of Human Resources to increase employee engagement
  • Developing, implementing, and monitoring program for new staff
  • Matching new staff with experienced Northwest employees to acquaint them with
    University functions, offices, and culture
  • Planning and managing events for the State Employee Recognition Week and other
    employee socialization and collaboration events, including, but not limited to, the Staff
  • Recognition Awards Banquet

Outreach Committee

Chair: Marsha Martin
Members: Brittany Roberts, Jill Kain

Responsibilities Charged:

  • Planning and managing a fundraising event each term where proceeds go towards the Northwest Staff Scholarship fund
  • Gathering and submitting an annual staff scholarship recipient, as noted in the Scholarship Agreement
  • Coordinating with University Advancement for the Annual Faculty/Staff Giving Campaign to promote philanthropic giving
  • Attending and assisting University Advancement with the Holiday Coffee event (usually in December) at the Alumni House

Policy Committee

Chair: Julie Robertson
Members: Katy Schwartz Drowns, Helen Konstantopoulos, Ben Rogers, Lisa Crater

Responsibilities Charged:

  • Reviewing and providing a recommendation for policy changes, including Employee Handbook changes, and process issues brought to the Council by committee members, staff, Human Resources, and/or leadership
  • Collecting nominations for the Staff Council election
  • Reviewing the Staff Council Charter yearly and suggesting edits to be made

You can find all of Northwest Missouri State’s University policies online in the Policy Library.