Directory
A-Z Index
 

Experts at Northwest

Northwest Missouri State University offers a wide range of faculty and staff who are available to give interviews and presentations on various topics.

To arrange an interview or lecture, you may contact the individual directly. If a specific topic or speaker is not listed, or if you need more information, contact Northwest Communication Manager Dr. Mark Hornickel by phone at 660.562.1704 or by email at mhorn@nwmissouri.edu.

Media should note, occasionally people on our list of media resources are experts not by virtue of their affiliation with Northwest, but through their personal interests and research, life experiences or previous work experience. Please clarify when possible in your news stories and broadcasts when this is the case.

Area of Expertise

Expert Contact Information

Aging, ​gerontology

Dr. Tyler TappsDr. Tyler Tapps
Assistant Vice President of Student Affairs: Health and Wellbeing, Wellness Services
660.562.1350 | tytapps@nwmissouri.edu

Dr. Sue MyllykangasDr. Sue Myllykangas
Associate Professor, School of Health Science & Wellness
660.562.1377 | susanm@nwmissouri.edu

Biotechnology/​plant biologics

Dr. Jeff ThornsberryDr. Jeff Thornsberry
Associate Professor, Department of Natural Sciences
660.562.1812 | jthorns@nwmissouri.edu

Collaboration

Dr. Shantel FarnanDr. Shantel Farnan
Instructor, School of Education
660.562.1450 | sfarnan@nwmissouri.edu

College student development

Dr. Alisha FrancisDr. Alisha Francis
Associate Professor, School of Health Science & Wellness
660.562.1663 | alishaf@nwmissouri.edu

Criminal justice, criminology

Dr. Kim CaseyDr. Kim Casey
Associate Professor, Department of Humanities & Social Sciences
660.562.1290 | kcasey@nwmissouri.edu

Kamala TaborKamala Tabor
Instructor, Department of Humanities & Social Sciences
660.562.1291 | kamala@nwmissouri.edu

Dietetics, nutrition

Kelli WilmesKelli Wilmes
Instructor, School of Health Science & Wellness
660.562.1451 | wilmesk@nwmissouri.edu

Diversity

Dr. Justin MallettDr. Justin Mallett
Assistant Vice President, Diversity & Inclusion
660.562.1517 | jmallett@nwmissouri.edu

Education: Assessment, standardized testing

Dr. Tim WallDr. Tim Wall
Associate Professor, School of Education
660.562.1179 | timwall@nwmissouri.edu

Education: Novice teacher induction

Dr. Tamara LynnDr. Tamara Lynn
Assistant Professor, School of Education
660.562.1258 | tglynn@nwmissouri.edu

Education: Policy

Dr. Tim WallDr. Tim Wall
Associate Professor, School of Education
660.562.1179 | timwall@nwmissouri.edu

Education: Primary and secondary

Dr. Tim WallDr. Tim Wall
Associate Professor, School of Education
660.562.1179 | timwall@nwmissouri.edu

Education: Public school law (K-12)

Dr. Kristi AlexanderDr. Kristi Alexander
Associate Professor, School of Education
660.562.1768 | kalex@nwmissouri.edu

Education: Reading and literacy

Dr. Beth GregoryDr. Beth Gregory
Assistant Professor, School of Education
660.562.1443 | bgregory@nwmissouri.edu

Education: Special education, children with disabilities

Dr. Shantel FarnanDr. Shantel Farnan
Instructor, School of Education
660.562.1450 | sfarnan@nwmissouri.edu

Dr. Tamara LynnDr. Tamara Lynn
Assistant Professor, School of Education
660.562.1258 | tglynn@nwmissouri.edu

Education: Technology

Dr. Darla Runyon Dr. Darla Runyon
Director, Center for Information Technology in Education
660.562.1532 | drunyon@nwmissouri.edu

Emergency and disaster management

Dr. Mark CorsonDr. Mark Corson
Professor, Department of Humanities & Social Sciences
660.562.1672 | mcorson@nwmissouri.edu

Equity and social justice issues

Dr. Amy HillardDr. Amy Hillard
Assistant Professor, School of Health Science & Wellness
660.562.1264 | ahillard@nwmissouri.edu

Dr. Justin MalletDr. Justin Mallet
Assistant Vice President, Diversity & Inclusion
660.562.1517 | jmallett@nwmissouri.edu

Dr. Tim WallDr. Tim Wall
Associate Professor, School of Education
660.562.1179 | timwall@nwmissouri.edu

Financial management

Dr. Lauren LeachDr. Lauren Leach
Associate Professor, School of Health Science & Wellness
660.562.1851 | lleach@nwmissouri.edu

Financing college

Charles MayfieldCharles Mayfield
Director, Financial Assistance
660.562.1138 | mayfield@nwmissouri.edu

Amee WilmesAmee Wilmes
Senior Assistant Director of Federal & State Programs, Financial Assistance
660.562.1988 | ameade@nwmissouri.edu

Geographic information systems

Dr. Ming HungDr. Ming Hung
Professor, Department of Humanities & Social Sciences
660.562.1797 | mhung@nwmissouri.edu

Dr. YiHwa WuDr. YiHwa Wu
Professor, Department of Humanities & Social Sciences
660.562.1869 | ywu@nwmissouri.edu

Geology

Dr. John PopeDr. John Pope
Associate Professor, Department of Natural Sciences
660.562.1211 | jppope@nwmissouri.edu

Group and team dynamics

Dr. Alisha FrancisDr. Alisha Francis
Associate Professor, School of Health Science & Wellness
660.562.1663 | alishaf@nwmissouri.edu

Health, fitness and wellness

Dr. Matt SymondsDr. Matt Symonds
Associate Professor, School of Health Science & Wellness
660.562.1069 | msymond@nwmissouri.edu

Dr. Loren ButlerDr. Loren Butler
Associate Professor, School of Health Science & Wellness
660.562.1066 | lbutler@nwmissouri.edu

Judy FruehJudy Frueh
Clinic Supervisor, Wellness Services
660.562.1348 | jfrueh@nwmissouri.edu

History, American

Dr. Elyssa FordDr. Elyssa Ford
Associate Professor, Department of Humanities & Social Sciences
660.562.1213 | ebford@nwmissouri.edu

Matthew JohnsonMatthew Johnson
Instructor, Department of Humanities & Social Sciences
660.562.1471 | mjohnso@nwmissouri.edu

Dr. Robert VossDr. Robert Voss
Assistant Professor, Department of Humanities & Social Sciences
660.562.1294 | rbvoss@nwmissouri.edu

History, Europe and politics

Dr. Brett ChloupekDr. Brett Chloupek
Assistant Professor, Department of Humanities & Social Sciences
660.562.1385 | brett@nwmissouri.edu

Dr. Dawn GilleyDr. Dawn Gilley
Associate Professor, Department of Humanities & Social Sciences
660.562.1839 | dgilley@nwmissouri.edu

Dr. Devlin ScofieldDr. Devlin Scofield
Assistant Professor, Department of Humanities & Social Sciences
660.562.1614 | devlins@nwmissouri.edu

History, film

Dr. Richard BlackDr. Richard Black
Assistant Professor, Department of Language, Literature and Writing
660.562.1744 | rblack@nwmissouri.edu

History, LGBTQ+/​Queer issues

Dr. Elyssa FordDr. Elyssa Ford
Associate Professor, Department of Humanities & Social Sciences
660.562.1213 | ebford@nwmissouri.edu

History, women's issues

Dr. Elyssa FordDr. Elyssa Ford
Associate Professor, Department of Humanities & Social Sciences
660.562.1213 | ebford@nwmissouri.edu

Instructional television (ITV)

Mike GrudzinskiMike Grudzinski
Distance Learning Manager, Northwest Education Consortium
660.562.1529 | mgrud@nwmissouri.edu

International affairs

Dr. Brian HesseDr. Brian Hesse
Professor, Department of Humanities & Social Sciences
660.562.1761 | bhesse@nwmissouri.edu

Literature

Dr. Michael HobbsDr. Michael Hobbs
Professor/Chair, Department of Language, Literature and Writing
660.562.1285 | mhobbs@nwmissouri.edu

Literature, American

Dr. Richard BlackDr. Richard Black
Assistant Professor, Department of Language, Literature and Writing
660.562.1744 | rblack@nwmissouri.edu

Marketing, advertising

Dr. Jim WalkerDr. Jim Walker
Professor, Department of Business
660.562.1858 | jwalker@nwmissouri.edu

Mental health

Dr. Jackie KiblerDr. Jackie Kibler
Associate Professor, School of Health Science & Wellness
660.562.1837 | jkibler@nwmissouri.edu

Middle East

Dr. Brian HesseDr. Brian Hesse
Professor, Department of Humanities & Social Sciences
660.562.1761 | bhesse@nwmissouri.edu

Music, classical

Dr. Rebecca DunnellDr. Rebecca Dunnell
Associate Professor, Department of Fine & Performing Arts
660.562.1791 | dunnell@nwmissouri.edu

Music, international

Dr. Rebecca DunnellDr. Rebecca Dunnell
Associate Professor, Department of Fine & Performing Arts
660.562.1791 | dunnell@nwmissouri.edu

Music, popular/​jazz

Dr. William RichardsonDr. William Richardson
Professor, Department of Fine & Performing Arts
660.562.1316 | billr@nwmissouri.edu

Philosophy, religion

Dr. Richard FieldDr. Richard Field
Associate Professor, Department of Humanities & Social Sciences
660.562.1296 | rfield@nwmissouri.edu

Political science, elections

Dr. Jessica GraceyDr. Jessica Gracey
Associate Professor, Department of Humanities & Social Sciences
660.562.1055 | jessicag@nwmissouri.edu

Political science, government

Dr. Brian HesseDr. Brian Hesse
Professor, Department of Humanities & Social Sciences
660.562.1761 | bhesse@nwmissouri.edu

Dr. Luke CampbellDr. Luke Campbell
Assistant Professor, Department of Humanities & Social Sciences
660.562.1760 | lcampbell@nwmissouri.edu

Dr. Jessica GraceyDr. Jessica Gracey
Assistant Professor, Department of Humanities & Social Sciences
660.562.1055 | jessicag@nwmissouri.edu

Research methods

Dr. Amy HillardDr. Amy Hillard
Assistant Professor, School of Health Science & Wellness
660.562.1264 | ahillard@nwmissouri.edu

Dr. Terry LongDr. Terry Long
Professor, School of Health Science & Wellness
660.562.1297 | tlong@nwmissouri.edu

Service learning

Dr. Tyler TappsDr. Tyler Tapps
Assistant Vice President of Student Affairs: Health and Wellbeing, Wellness Services
660.562.1350 | tytapps@nwmissouri.edu

Social media

Brandon StanleyBrandon Stanley
Assistant Vice President, University Marketing & Communication
660.562.1628 | brandon@nwmissouri.edu

Stress management

Dr. Alisha FrancisDr. Alisha Francis
Associate Professor, School of Health Science & Wellness
660.562.1663 | alishaf@nwmissouri.edu

Student affairs, student life

Dr. Matt BakerDr. Matt Baker
Vice President, Student Affairs
660.562.1219 | mcbaker@nwmissouri.edu

Suicide prevention, intervention and postvention

Dr. Jackie KiblerDr. Jackie Kibler
Associate Professor, School of Health Science & Wellness
660.562.1837 | jkibler@nwmissouri.edu

Team development

Dr. Rose ViauDr. Rose Viau
Director, Residential Life
660.562.1085 | rviau@nwmissouri.edu

Textbooks, electronic and rental programs

Dr. Darla RunyonDr. Darla Runyon
Director, Learning & Teaching Center
660.562.1532 | drunyon@nwmissouri.edu

Therapeutic recreation

Dr. Terry LongDr. Terry Long
Professor, School of Health Science & Wellness
660.562.1297 | tlong@nwmissouri.edu

Weather, severe storms

Jeff BradleyJeff Bradley
Instructor, Department of Natural Sciences
660.562.1818 | jbradle@nwmissouri.edu