This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Missouri State University

Northwest Board of Regents

The Board of Regents serves as the governing body for Northwest Missouri State University. The nine members, including a non-voting student regent, are appointed by the governor and approved by the Missouri Senate. The board holds the Northwest vision in highest regard.

Pat Harr

Dr. Pat Harr, Board Chair

Pat Harr, Maryville, was appointed to the Board of Regents in 2013. He spent 38 years practicing medicine in Maryville and served as a volunteer physician for Northwest athletics teams before retiring in 2012. He earned his undergraduate and medical degrees from the University of Missouri-Columbia and attended Northwest where he studied pre-medicine. His Board term expires Jan. 1, 2019.

Gene Dorrel

Francis "Gene" Dorrel, Board Vice Chair

Gene Dorrel, Maryville, was appointed to the Board of Regents in 2012 and is a 1976 graduate of Northwest. He has been general manager of United Electric Cooperative in Maryville and Savannah since 1990. He has served on several boards including as chairman of the Association of Missouri Electric Cooperatives' Legislative and Government Relations Committee and as president of the Nodaway County Economic Development Corporation. His Board term expires Jan. 1, 2017.

Dr. Marilou Joyner

Dr. Marilou Joyner

Marilou Joyner, Kansas City, was appointed to the Board in 2015 and is the chief executive officer and owner and administrator of Cameron Group Care Inc. She is a longtime educator in northwest Missouri public schools and was assistant commissioner for the Division of School Services within the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education. Joyner obtained her bachelor’s, master’s and education specialist degrees from Northwest, and she has a doctorate in education from the University of Kansas. Her Board term expires Jan. 1, 2021.

John Richmond

John Richmond

John Richmond, Albany, was appointed to the Board of Regents in 2013. He served 29 years as the president and CEO of Northwest Medical Center in Albany. He has a bachelor’s degree in economics from the University of Missouri-Kansas City and a master’s degree in hospital administration from Webster University. His Board term expires Jan. 1, 2019.

Richard Smith

Richard Smith

Richard Smith, Coffey, was appointed to the Board in 2015 and is part-time superintendent of schools at the Cainsville R-1 School District and was superintendent of schools for the South Harrison R-11 School District in Bethany, Mo., from 2004 to 2008. He also served as a principal and teacher in the district from 1973 to 2004. Smith obtained his bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Northwest as well as his specialist in education degree. His Board term expires Jan. 1, 2019.

Lynne Gilbert

Lynne Gilbert, Secretary to Board of Regents