A-Z Index

News Release

April 14, 2022

Student Senate announces election results, 2022-23 reps

The Student Senate at Northwest Missouri State University has announced the results of its April election to fill its executive board and campus representative roles for the 2022-23 academic year.

Liz Motazedi, a junior from Joplin, Missouri, who is majoring in social studies education with an emphasis in history, will serve as executive president, and Dami Popoola, a junior computer science major from Lagos, Nigeria, will serve as executive vice president.

Garrison Kennedy, a junior English major from Excelsior Springs, Missouri, was elected executive secretary. Jillian McNamara, a sophomore from Papillion, Nebraska, who is majoring in political science with a global affairs emphasis, was elected executive treasurer.

“As the 100th Student Senate approaches we have truly turned a new leaf,” Motazedi said. “With COVID taking its course, I am ready to get back into the full swing of things and have a fresh, exciting year. I want to motivate and provide students with excitement in fulfilling roles on this campus.”

Class and residential representatives elected to the Student Senate are listed below.

Class representatives

  • Chloe Devries, president
  • Lucas Prater
  • Grace Heater
  • Mckenna Grimmer
  • Jenna Byrd, president 
  • Carson Sieber
  • Joe Connelly
  • Jaelee Pittel
  • Elisha Westover, president 
  • Kandance Inskip
  • Cameron Laughery 

On-campus representative

  • Zoe Chagnon

Off-campus representative

  • Brayden Major
  • Drew Belton
  • Sophia Sander
  • Zayden Rawlings 

Student Senate is the elected, representative governing body of the Student Government Association (SGA) at Northwest. It makes decisions for the SGA and expresses the official opinion of the Northwest student body. It consists of representatives from each class as well as representatives for graduate students, off-campus students and on-campus students.

Any Northwest student is eligible to join the Student Senate as a non-voting associate member. Senators serve on Student Senate and University committees to serve stakeholders. Student Senate also provides students with numerous opportunities to be involved on campus, stay informed about important issues, and develop long-lasting relationships with other student leaders and campus leaders.

For more information, contact the Student Senate at 660.562.1218 or


Dr. Mark Hornickel
Administration Building
Room 215