A-Z Index

News Release

June 24, 2020

Northwest RPDC announces Regional Teachers of the Year

Corinne Russell

Corinne Russell

Rebecca Wynne

Rebecca Wynne

The Northwest Regional Professional Development Center at Northwest Missouri State University recently announced two area teachers as Missouri Regional Teachers of the Year.

This year’s honorees are:

  • Corinne Russell, a high school French teacher in the St. Joseph School District
  • Rebecca Wynne, a middle school STEM teacher in the Maryville R-II School District and Northwest alumna

The Northwest Regional Teacher of the Year award is part of the Missouri Teacher of the Year program, sponsored by the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE). The program recognizes the efforts of effective teachers in providing quality education to their students. Preparing, developing and supporting effective educators is one of DESE’s primary goals.

The honorees are now eligible to compete for the 2020-2021 Missouri Teacher of the Year. A selection committee, comprising teachers, business leaders and education organization leaders, will choose the Missouri Teacher of the Year after interviews with each finalist this fall. The winner and the finalists will be honored at an Oct. 19 banquet in Jefferson City, Missouri. The Missouri Teacher of the Year serves as the state’s nominee for the National Teacher of the Year competition.

The Northwest Regional Professional Development Center supports and provides professional development activities for K-12 educators in more than 60 school districts in the 15-county Northwest region.


Dr. Mark Hornickel
Administration Building
Room 215