A-Z Index

News Release

Feb. 13, 2020

Governor reappoints Hurst to Northwest Board of Regents

Gov. Mike Parson has announced the appointment of Lydia Hurst, of Tarkio, to Northwest Missouri State University’s Board of Regents.

She must be confirmed by the Missouri Senate for her appointment to become official.

Hurst, a Republican, fills the Board seat of Richard Smith (R), of Bethany, for a term scheduled to end Jan. 1, 2025, and until a successor is appointed. Smith’s term expired Jan. 1, 2019, but he has continued to serve on the Board.

Hurst is assistant manager of The Flower Mill, a retail shop in Tarkio, and a partner of Hurst Farms, a row crop family farm.

Hurst has served as a member of the Tarkio R-1 School Board since 2013 and previously was a member of Northwest’s Board of Regents from 2003 to 2013.

She earned a bachelor’s degree in marketing from Northwest in 1996.

Northwest’s nine-member Board of Regents is responsible for sound resource management of the University and determining general, educational and financial policies.

According to state statutes, six of the Board’s members must live in the University’s 19-county district. They must include one member living in Nodaway County and two living outside the district but no more than two voting members residing in the same county.

Additionally, not more than four voting members may belong to any one political party. One member must be a non-voting student representative.

Dr. Marilou Joyner (D), of Kansas City, serves as Board chair, and Roxanna Swaney (R), of Liberty, is vice chair. Jason Klindt (R), of Kearney; John Moore (I), of Raymore; Deborah Roach (D), of Grant City; George Speckman (I), of St. Joseph; and Mel Tjeerdsma (R) of Maryville; round out the Board. The seat of the Board’s student regent is vacant.


Dr. Mark Hornickel
Administration Building
Room 215