A-Z Index

News Release

Feb. 11, 2020

Alumni Association accepting nominations for annual awards

Add to Calendar

The Northwest Missouri State University Alumni Association is seeking nominations for individuals to be honored at its annual awards program next fall. The awards are annually presented to alumni, faculty and friends of the University who have demonstrated professional achievement or extraordinary dedication to Northwest.

“Northwest alumni and friends are doing some incredible things within their careers and in the ways they support and lift up Northwest Missouri State University,” Bob Machovsky, Northwest’s director of alumni relations and annual giving, said. “The Alumni Awards pays tribute to those who are exceling in their professions and recognizes those who are giving back to the University or their community in admirable ways.”

Nominations are due Sunday, March 1. Nomination forms and a listing of past recipients are available at

Nominees are being sought for the following categories:

Distinguished Alumni Award: Recognizes Northwest alumni for their exceptional professional and personal achievement and extraordinary distinction in their chosen field.

Distinguished Faculty Emeritus Award: Recognizes a former faculty member for his or her outstanding teaching, service or research contributions at Northwest.

Distinguished Faculty Award: Recognizes a present faculty member for his or her outstanding teaching, service or research contributions at Northwest.

Honorary Alumni Award: Honors Northwest friends who have served, promoted and loved the University in the tradition of a loyal graduate.

Turret Service Award: Acknowledges a graduate, former student, current or retired staff member for his or her significant contributions of time and talents on behalf of the University and the Northwest Alumni Association.

Young Alumni Award: Honors a graduate age 40 or younger for his or her exceptional achievements in career, public service or volunteerism that bring honor to the University.

Public Service Award: Recognizes an outstanding service-minded individual who has devoted his or her time and energy for the betterment of northwest Missouri and higher education.

The Northwest Alumni Association solicits nominations for the awards from all members of the University community, and a committee of elected members of the Alumni Board of Directors reviews the nominations and selects the top three candidates through a blind selection process. The top three candidates are presented to the full Alumni Board of Directors for review and selection.

Last year’s recipients were Randell Moore (Distinguished Alumni Award), Dr. Ashley Leger (Young Alumni Award), Dr. Michael Rogers (Distinguished Faculty Award), Dr. Richard Fulton (Distinguished Faculty Emeritus Award), Allison Strong Hoffmann (Turret Service Award), Brad Jackson (Honorary Alumni Award) and Rodney Edge (Public Service Award).

The 2020 Alumni Awards Banquet will be Friday, Sept. 11, in conjunction with Family Weekend, in the J.W. Jones Student Union Ballroom on the Northwest campus.

For more information, contact the Northwest Alumni Association at or 660.562.1248.


Dr. Mark Hornickel
Administration Building
Room 215