A-Z Index

News Release

April 11, 2019

Student Senate announces election results, 2019-20 reps

By Tara Garcia, communication assistant

The Student Senate at Northwest Missouri State University has announced the results of its April election to fill its executive board and campus representative roles for the 2019-20 academic year.

Asma Hassan, a junior psychology and human services major from Liberty, Missouri, will serve as executive president, and Kirayle Jones, a sophomore middle school education major from Omaha, Nebraska, will serve as executive vice president.

Abha Niraula, a junior psychology and writing major from Kathmandu, Nepal, was elected executive secretary. Debrielle Patee-Merrill, a junior geography major from Maryville, was elected executive treasurer.

“The 97th Student Senate is in great hands,” Alyssa Lincoln, the outgoing Student Senate president, said. “Each member of this executive board-elect brings something unmatched and powerful to the table. I have been fortunate to see each one of them lead in their own capacity, and I have been inspired. I look forward to keeping up with the 97th Student Senate on their amazing leadership.”

Class and residential representatives elected to the Student Senate are listed below.

Class representatives


Chloe Kallhoff
Ben Hayen
Connor Thompson
Bailey Hendrickson


Grace McCarty
Madi Cobb
Carmen Miller
Nathan White


Gena Cockrell
Hailey Todd
Delaney Smail
Kenyatta Johnson

Off campus representative

Meg Rieschick
Cory Wahlbrink
Robert Hutton
Peyton Lewis
Uma Mahesh Kumar Ravirala

Northwest students voted online during the week of April 1-5. A swearing-in ceremony will take place at Student Senate’s final meeting of the academic year at 7 p.m. on Tuesday, April 23, in the J.W. Jones Student Union Ballroom.

Lincoln, a senior biology and psychology major from Omaha, Nebraska, said she appreciates the opportunities and challenges Student Senate provides. She noted the opportunity to attend and speak at the Carl and Cheryl Hughes Fieldhouse ribbon cutting last fall as a highlight of her year as president.

“Through Student Senate I have been afforded amazing friends who uplift and challenge me every day,” she said. “In addition to that, my leadership skills have been critiqued and refined, multiple times over. Tuesday nights have always been the night I look forward to.”

Student Senate is the elected, representative governing body of the Student Government Association (SGA) at Northwest. It makes decisions for the SGA and expresses the official opinion of the Northwest student body. It consists of four representatives from each class, one representative of graduate students, five representatives for off-campus students and five representatives for on-campus students.

Any Northwest student is eligible to join the Student Senate as a non-voting associate member. Senators serve on the Student Senate and University committees to serve constituents. Student Senate also provides students with numerous opportunities to get involved on campus, stay informed about important issues, and develop long lasting relationships with other student leaders and campus administrators.

For more information, contact the Student Senate at 660.562.1218 or


Dr. Mark Hornickel
Administration Building
Room 215