A-Z Index
 (Photo by University Photography)

Bearcat Stadium / Mel Tjeerdsma Field




The home of Bearcat football, the stadium offers permanent seating for 6,200 fans and a total capacity of 7,500. The playing surface is known as Mel Tjeerdsma Field, and the track that encircles the field is called Herschel Neil Track.

Opened in 1917, it is the longest-running continuous site for football in all of NCAA Division II. The stadium underwent extensive renovations between 2000 and 2003, and in 2004 its name was changed from Rickenbrode Stadium. In 2007, the natural playing surface was changed to turf and lights were added. (For more information about the facility, click here.)

Mel Tjeerdsma Field

The football field, but not the stadium, was renamed in 2007 in honor of Mel Tjeerdsma, who led the football team from 1994 to 2010. Herschel Neil Track, which encircles the field, is named after the Bearcat track and field standout of the 1930s. (For more information about the facility, click here.)