A-Z Index

News Release

April 19, 2018

Faculty Senate honors 3 with Meritorious Awards

Terri Vogel

Terri Vogel

Dr. Nissa Ingraham

Dr. Nissa Ingraham

Dr. Jim Eiswert

Dr. Jim Eiswert

Northwest Missouri State University’s Faculty Senate on Wednesday recognized three University employees for their efforts to advance the institution’s inclusive, caring, innovative, passionate, student-centered focus.

The Faculty Senate presented Meritorious Awards to Registrar Terri Vogel, Assistant Professor of Professional Education Dr. Nissa Ingraham and Associate Professor of Philosophy Dr. Jim Eiswert.

Vogel and her staff, Faculty Senate President Dr. John Gallaher said, were an integral part of the Senate’s ability to secure and begin using a proposal software program this year. 

“Without their patience, hard work and guidance the streamlining of the proposal process would not have been possible,” Gallaher said. “Terri has worked to assure that rules and regulations are followed while allowing for the flexibility needed to review and respond to curriculum proposals across campus.”

The Faculty Senate honored Ingraham for her innovative work and valuable insight spanning multiple areas of campus, including the Horace Mann Laboratory School, dual credit programming and Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education certification requirements.

“Without Dr. Ingraham’s student-centered focus, innovative solutions and collaboration with all departments, we would have had students delay their graduation and pay for additional credit hours,” Gallaher said. “Much of it is behind the scenes, dealing with credits and requirements, but her work demonstrates how much she is inclusive, caring, innovative, passionate and student-centered. She epitomizes these qualities.”

The Faculty Senate honored Dr. Jim Eiswert, who retires this spring after 27 years at Northwest, for his distinguished career and dedication as an educator, mentor and citizen. 

“His exemplary service to Northwest is everywhere manifest, from numerous public forums and panels, to his commitment to his discipline and to faculty shared governance,” Gallaher said. “In all these roles, Jim is always an engaged colleague, who is laser-focused on what is best for the University and its constituents. Dr. Eiswert shares innovative ideas, collaborates, and is passionate about his work. At the same time, he provides a historical perspective that adds value to whatever issue is at hand. Overall, his student-centered approach is evident in all that he does. Jim approaches all of his work with commitment and vigor. His willingness to serve when called upon, his sense of duty and volunteerism, and his dedication to the work once he takes on a task or responsibility make him an excellent choice for this award.”

The Faculty Senate is the representative body of the faculty at Northwest. Its purpose is to develop, formulate and recommend policies to the University’s Board of Regents. It also provides a forum for faculty to discuss important matters and make recommendations concerning their findings to University leadership.


Dr. Mark Hornickel
Administration Building
Room 215