Forever Green
Campaign for Northwest
A-Z Index

Faculty/Staff Spotlight

Nov. 16, 2016

Joy Daggs selected for communication association executive committee

By Lexi Ryan, media relations assistant

Dr. Joy Daggs

Dr. Joy Daggs

A Northwest Missouri State University faculty member recently was elected to serve on the Executive Committee of the Central States Communication Association (CSCA).

Dr. Joy Daggs, assistant professor of communication, was elected as member at large to the CSCA Executive Committee for a two-year term.

As member at large, she will participate in executive committee meetings with full voting rights. She will serve on other committees and assist with numerous projects and initiatives for the association.

Daggs joined the organization in 2003 and has since attended all of its annual conferences, presenting with about 30 panels and receiving a top three paper recognition in the Organizational and Professional Communication Interest Group in 2011. She also is the chair of CSCA’s Communication Education Interest Group and has completed a three-year commitment to the group.

As member at large to the CSCA Executive Committee, Daggs says she will work to solidify CSCA’s position as a leader in professional development, mentorship and networking. She will support its current efforts and expand opportunities to create more connections for undergraduates, graduate students and faculty.

“As I have transitioned from student to faculty member, Central States has been a constant presence in my professional life,” Daggs said.

She began teaching at Northwest in 2012. She earned her bachelor’s degree in English communications at William Woods University, her master’s degree in communication studies at the University of Northern Iowa and her Ph.D. in communication at the University of Missouri.

The CSCA was founded in 1931 and is a professional, academic organization for primary and secondary school teachers, students, college and university professors and communication professionals. The association consists of 13 Midwestern states - North Dakota, South Dakota, Nebraska, Kansas, Oklahoma, Missouri, Illinois, Wisconsin, Minnesota, Michigan, Indiana and Ohio.

For more information, please contact:

Mark Hornickel, Communication Manager | 660.562.1704 | Fax: 660.562.1900

Northwest Missouri State University
215 Administration Building | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468