This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Missouri State University

Faculty/Staff Spotlight

Aug. 27, 2014

Booth College recognizes 4 as Dean’s Faculty Award recipients

Dr. Greg Haddock, acting dean of the Melvin D. and Valorie G. Booth College of Business and Professional Studies at Northwest Missouri State University, has announced the names of three faculty members who are recipients of the Dean's Faculty Award.

Dr. Naveen Musunuru, assistant professor of agricultural sciences, was awarded the Dean’s Faculty Award for Teaching; Dr. Ben Blackford, assistant professor of management, was honored with the Dean’s Faculty Award for Exemplary Service; Dr. Jamie Allen, assistant professor for agricultural sciences, received the Dean’s Award for Scholarship; and Dr. Arley Larson, associate professor of agricultural sciences, received the Dean’s Faculty Award for Student Support.

The Dean's Faculty Award program within the Booth College of Business and Professional Studies annually recognizes superior faculty performance in each of four traditional areas of academic responsibility: teaching, research, student support and service. All full-time faculty holding a board-approved appointment at the University are eligible for these awards. Each honoree receives a plaque and a stipend for travel or supply funds.

Remarks from each award winner’s nomination form appear below.

Northwest will recognize its 2014 Dean’s Faculty Award winners from all three academic colleges during a ceremony at 3 p.m. Tuesday, Sept. 9, on the first floor of the Administration Building. One faculty member is selected from among each academic college’s Dean’s Faculty Award for Teaching winners as the recipient of the 2015 Governor’s Award for Excellence in Education, which also will be announced during the ceremony.

Dr. Naveen Musunuru, Dean's Faculty Award for Teaching

Dr. Naveen Musunuru’s outstanding performance in his teaching efforts last year included a concerted effort to improve the level of student understanding in his classes while incorporating real-world examples to stimulate student interest in the subject matter.

He placed strong emphasis on improving the analytical abilities of students by utilizing quantitative data analysis. Musunuru’s student evaluations rank at the top of all faculty in the Department of Agricultural Sciences. His overall average for both the fall and spring trimesters of 3.78 with a range of 3.73 to 3.83 shows his commitment to teaching and student success.

Dr. Naveen Musunuru

Dr. Ben Blackford, Dean's Faculty Award for Exemplary Service

Dr. Ben Blackford has served as a department representative on the Faculty Senate, the Faculty Senate Executive Committee and the Faculty Welfare Committee.

He is continuously involved in departmental student recruitment activities including Green and White Visit Days, Distinguished Scholar Days, Admissions-sponsored chat sessions, and meetings with prospective students and their parents.

He serves as co-advisor for Northwest’s chapter of Enactus, an international organization dedicated to developing socially responsible business leaders. He also continues to grow the annual Northwest’s New Venture Pitch business competition, which completed its third year last spring with 38 teams competing.

He serves on the board of Northwest Missouri Enterprise Facilitation and was a co-investigator for a USDA grant that included multiple local agencies.

Dr. Ben Blackford

Dr. Jamie Allen, Dean's Faculty Award for Scholarship

Dr. Jamie Allen has shown a strong commitment to research efforts. During the last year, he has had two articles published in refereed national journals and one article published in a non-refereed journal.

In addition, Allen made seven abstract presentations at regional and national conferences throughout the year. As a result of his efforts, he obtained $2,000 in external funding from Multimin USA to study the effects of Multimin 90 on foot rot prevalence, health parameters and growth parameters of beef cows and calves in northwest Missouri.

Dr. Jamie Allen

Dr. Arley Larson, Dean's Faculty Award for Student Support

Dr. Arley Larson has shown a strong commitment to students in the Department of Agricultural Sciences.

During the last year, he has developed and taught an agricultural advocacy course in cooperation with the University of Central Missouri and Missouri State University. In addition, Larson collaborated with faculty form the University of Central Missouri and Missouri State to design and conduct an agricultural industry tour course.

As an undergraduate student advisor, Larson provided advisement assistance to 105 advisees last year. He serves as the advisor to Collegiate Farm Bureau and Alpha Gamma Rho fraternity and as the co-advisor of the Agricultural Ambassadors.

Larson is committed to the success of future students as evidenced by his dedication through his recruitment efforts. He met with 41 prospective students, participated as a SOAR advisor, was active in the fall and spring visit days and worked booths at both the National FFA Convention and the Western Farm Show.

Dr. Arley Larson

For more information, please contact:

Mark Hornickel, Communication Manager | 660.562.1704 | Fax: 660.562.1900

Northwest Missouri State University
215 Administration Building | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468