This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Missouri State University

News Release

April 10, 2013

Awards ceremony recognizes school year’s outstanding student organizations, leaders, student employees

Jill McCall, student employee of the year

Jill McCall, student employee of the year

Lynne Gilbert, student employee supervisor of the year

Lynne Gilbert, student employee supervisor of the year

Makael White, student organization president of the year

Makael White, student organization president of the year

Northwest Missouri State University honored its outstanding student organizations, leaders and student employees as well as its Tower Service Award winners April 8 during the University’s annual Northwest Awards and Recognition Ceremony.

The collaborative celebration is sponsored by Student Senate, the Office of Campus Activities and Student Employment. It recognizes the winners of the B.D. Library Research Contest, Student Organization and Leadership Awards, Student Employment Awards and the Tower Service Awards.

“We are always pleased to celebrate our campus leaders and the success produced by their actions,” Northwest Director of Campus Activities Angel McAdams Prescott said. “We have students who selflessly give of their time, money and energy to those in need. We have student organizations who strive daily to produce great leaders. We have students who are academically challenging the status quo. We have students who are committed to the success of this institution and we have staff and faculty who spend countless hours mentoring and guiding all of this student success.”

In conjunction with National Student Employment Week, the awards ceremony also recognized outstanding student employees and supervisors across the Northwest campus. Paula McLain, coordinator of student employment, noted Northwest's student employment population consists of about 900 student employees in 110 departments and 120 student employment supervisors.  

“Student employees perform invaluable services with enthusiasm, dedication and initiative,” McLain said. “Student employment is our bridge to those we serve, a bridge that personally brings us friendship, ideas and motivation, among many other valuable assets. Indeed, Northwest depends on this irreplaceable workforce.”

The Student Employment Supervisor nominees are evaluated based on leadership, mentoring and professionalism. The Student Employee of the Year and Student Employment Team of the Year nominees are evaluated based on five standards established by the National Student Employment Association: reliability, initiative, professionalism, quality of work and the uniqueness of their contributions.

Jill McCall was named Northwest’s 2013 Student Employee of the Year, in addition to being named the State of Missouri Student Employee of the year. Calling McCall a hard-working and diligent student employee, her nominator also commended her on her ability to complete complex projects with multiple layers

“(She) is successful at multitasking in the rapidly changing environment of the department,” the nominator wrote. “Because of her work ethic, she has built many bridges across the University and Maryville community. She was able to save the institution time and money by systematically finding and correcting errors in the computer database. She is a rare gem and very deserving of the compliment for a job well done.”

Lynne Gilbert was named Student Employment Supervisor of the Year. Gilbert’s nominator recognized her for her ability to make student employees feel part of a cohesive team while displaying a high degree of professionalism in mentoring them. “She always leads by example and exhibits a great attitude while wearing a big smile. She has always epitomized quality leadership and is one of the most amazing and kind-hearted people that I have ever met,” the nominator wrote.

Student employees in the Center for Information Technology in Education were recognized as the Student Employment Team of the Year. The team's nominator wrote, “Every member has played a vital role in the success of one or more projects. There seems to be a wisp of excitement when they are all here working together supporting each other. They are an inspiration to watch, and it is quite a good feeling to see them succeed at the challenges they are presented through the office projects.” The student employee team consists of Krishna Dev Annamaneni, Brandon Bland, Jessica Gipson, Gautham Goalla, Duncan Kelly and Christopher Parker. 

Sigma Kappa was named the Outstanding Student Organization. The sorority was recognized for its success and involvement in campus programs, as well as its sisterhood. “The ladies of this organization have developed a bond that goes beyond just an organizational membership,” wrote the award nominator.

Common Ground President Makael White was recognized as Student Organization President of the Year. White’s nominator recognized him for his strong leadership and said “He allows every individual who puts the idea out there to take it on and he empowers them. … He is empathetic, passionate, understanding, and patient.”

Dr. Deb Toomey, assistant professor of marketing at Northwest, delivered the keynote address at the ceremony. In her remarks, she reflected on her own experience as an undergraduate student at Northwest and her initial struggles as a deciding major. Toomey says the mistakes she made then helped shape the person she is today.

“We all have some story that puts us where we are today,” Toomey said. “Some of the story is based on successes, while others may be based on failures. How can each of us apply those pieces of our lives to not only our future, but how can we share this with others? If I was always successful, I do not think I would make a very personable advisor or Freshman Seminar teacher because I would not be able to relate to my students very well. My charge to each of you is to think of how you can relay your successes – and failures – to others? How can you share your legacy?”

Below is a complete listing of the award winners and nominees.

B.D. Owens Library Research Awards

 Library Research Award winners


Campus Activities Awards

Community Leadership Award winner, St. Jude Up 'til Dawn


 Outstanding New Organization, Alpha Kappa Psi


 Outstanding Program of the Year, Sigma Society Bridal Show



 Outstanding students



 Outstanding Student Organization Sigma Kappa


 Certified Student Leaders

Student Employment Awards


 Outstanding Student Employment Team, Center for Information Technology


Pictured below, left to right, are Parker, Henggeler, Jones, McCall, Williams and Platt.

 Outstanding student employees


Tower Service Awards

 Tower Service Award for a team, Information Systems Help Desk


 Tower Service Award winners, Cody Uhing and Dr. Ahmed Malkawi

For more information, please contact:

Mark Hornickel, Communication Manager | 660.562.1704 | Fax: 660.562.1900

Northwest Missouri State University
215 Administration Building | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468