This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Missouri State University

News Release

July 5, 2012

Northwest announces department chairs for 2012-2013

Updated Aug. 2, 2012

Northwest Missouri State University this week announced faculty members who will serve as chairs of the University’s 11 academic departments during the 2012-2013 school year.

In February, Northwest announced the plan to realign its academic departments from 19 to 11 in response to continuing shifts across higher education.

The realigned departments and their chairs are listed below.

Booth College of Business and Professional Studies

Department of Agricultural Sciences
(Agriculture Business, Agriculture Education, Agriculture Science, Agronomy, Animal Science, Horticulture)
Chair:  Eric Mousel

Department of Business
(Accounting, Economics, Finance, Management, Marketing, Merchandising)
Chair:  Steve Ludwig

Department of Communication and Mass Media
(Communication, Mass Communication)
Chair:  David Shadinger

College of Arts & Sciences

Department of English and Modern Languages
(English, Languages)
Chair:  Michael Hobbs

Department of Fine and Performing Arts
(Art, Music, Theatre)
Chair:  Dave Oehler

Department of Humanities and Social Sciences
(Geography, History, Humanities, Philosophy, Political Science)
Chair:  Mike Steiner

Department of Mathematics, Computer Science, and Information Systems  
(Computer Science, Information Systems, Mathematics)
Chair:  Phil Heeler

Department of Natural Sciences
(Biology, Chemistry, Geology, Nanoscale Science, Nursing, Physics)
Chair:  Mark Corson

College of Education and Human Services

Department of Behavioral Sciences
(Child/Family Studies, Counseling, Psychology, Sociology)
Chair:  Carla Edwards

Department of Health and Human Services
(Health, Nutrition/Dietetics, Physical Education, Recreation)
Chair:  Matt Symonds

Department of Professional Education
(Career Education, Curriculum & Instruction, Educational Leadership)
Chair:  Joe Kreizinger

For more information, please contact:

Mark Hornickel, Communication Manager | 660.562.1704 | Fax: 660.562.1900

Northwest Missouri State University
215 Administration Building | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468