This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Missouri State University

News Release

June 13, 2012

Northwest alumni association to honor 6 for success, service

Six distinguished members of the Northwest Missouri State University family will be honored during the alumni awards banquet this fall.

The annual event, sponsored by the Northwest Alumni Association, will begin with a 6 p.m. social Friday, Sept. 28, in the J.W. Jones Student Union Ballroom followed by dinner at 6:45 p.m. and the awards presentation at 8 p.m.

“Our Alumni Association is very privileged to host and honor six Bearcats for their exceptional and professional achievements, extraordinary distinction in their fields and devotion to Northwest,” said Steve Sutton, director of alumni relations. “The Alumni Awards Banquet is an evening of elegance and a time that we can show our appreciation to those who have given of their time and talents to Northwest.”

For more information about the Alumni Awards Banquet, or to purchase tickets, call the Office of University Advancement at 660.562.1248 or e-mail To register online, go to

Tickets cost $30 per person or $200 for a table of eight. Reservations will be accepted through Friday, Sept. 14, on a first-come, first-served basis.

This year's honorees are listed below.

Dr. Edward L. Farquhar

Dr. Edward L. Farquhar

Dr. Edward L. Farquhar received his undergraduate degree from Northwest in 1958. He began his professional career at Northwest in 1964 and retired in 2001. He will receive the 2012 Distinguished Faculty Emeritus Award.

During his time at Northwest, he served as an assistant professor, associate professor, professor and chair in the Department of Chemistry and Physics. He also served as interim chair for the Department of Biology. Since his retirement, Farquhar served as interim dean of the Missouri Academy of Science, Mathematics and Computing from 2003 to 2004 and as an adjunct faculty member from 2001 to 2010.

He lives in Maryville.

Dr. Ahmen Malkawi

Dr. Ahmed Malkawi

Dr. Ahmed Malkawi is an associate professor in the Department of Natural Sciences and is the 2012 Distinguished Faculty Award recipient.

He began his career at Northwest in 2000 and teaches organic chemistry. A recipient of the 2005 and 2010 Dean’s Excellence in Teaching Award, Malkawi is both an outstanding educator and excellent researcher. He devotes significant time to curriculum development, class preparation and innovative teaching as well as supervising students in research and independent studies.

He lives in Maryville.

Mitch Osborn

Mitch Osborn

Mitch Osborn, a 1984 graduate of Northwest, will receive the 2012 Distinguished Alumni Award.

Osborn is the athletics director and head boys’ basketball coach at Harlan Community School District in Harlan, Iowa. As head basketball coach, his overall record is 574-113, his teams have made 16 state tournament appearances, he has been named district or regional coach of the year six times and Iowa state coach of the year twice. Osborn is also an auctioneer at Osborn Auction LLC and has served as an auctioneer at numerous benefits and fundraisers.

He lives in Harlan, Iowa.

Dr. Max Ruhl

Dr. Max Ruhl

Dr. Max Ruhl will receive the 2012 Honorary Alumni Award.

Ruhl’s career at Northwest began in 1987. He served as associate professor, professor and chair in the Department of Educational Leadership prior to serving as dean of the College of Education and Human Services for 14 years until his retirement in 2010. A recipient of the 2010 Lifetime Achievement at Northwest, Ruhl was inducted into the Mid-America Education Hall of Fame in 2011.

He lives in Rocky Comfort.

Dan Runde

Dan Runde

Dan Runde, a 1981 Northwest alumnus, has been in the banking industry since 1982 and is senior vice president of commercial lending at Platte Valley Bank. He is the recipient of the 2012 Turret Service Award.

The immediate past president of the Northwest Foundation, Runde founded Northwest Networks-Kansas City, a group of alumni and friends who come together to build business relationships with the common bond being Northwest. He is a member of the Northland Regional Chamber of Commerce and Platte City Chamber of Commerce and serves on the board of directors for the KCI Rotary Club.

He lives in Platte City.

Tyler Tapps

Dr. Tyler Tapps

Dr. Tyler Tapps received degrees from Northwest in 2004 and 2006 and has been an assistant professor in recreation management and therapeutic recreation in the School of Applied Health and Educational Psychology at Oklahoma State University since 2009. He will receive the 2012 Young Alumni Award.

A former fuel maintenance technician in the United States Air Force, Tapps also serves as a student mentor for University Veteran Mentor Services. He has written numerous national peer-review publications and grants and three books. 

He lives in Stillwater, Okla.







For more information, please contact:

Mark Hornickel, Communication Manager | 660.562.1704 | Fax: 660.562.1900

Northwest Missouri State University
215 Administration Building | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468