Forever Green
Campaign for Northwest
A-Z Index

News Release

June 20, 2011

Jasinski elected to vice chair role on statewide COPHE board

Dr. John Jasinski

Dr. John Jasinski

MARYVILLE, Mo. - Dr. John Jasinski, president of Northwest Missouri State University in Maryville, has been elected by his peers to serve as vice chair of the Council on Public Higher Education.

Jasinski begins his role July 1 and serves a two-year term with the statewide organization, which is composed of the presidents and chancellors of four-year public higher education institutions in Missouri.

University of Missouri-Columbia Chancellor Brady Deaton was elected chair of COPHE.

"I am humbled my peers across the state elected me to serve as COPHE's vice chair," Jasinski said. "I look forward to working with Chancellor Deaton and the leaders of our other Missouri institutions as we continue to advance higher education in our great state."

Founded in the mid-1970s, COPHE strives to support and advance the mission of Missouri's public four-year colleges and universities by facilitating information sharing and collaboration among the chief executive officers. COPHE encourages increased understanding by the public and public officials of the value of higher education to a state's people and its economy.

Jasinski became Northwest's 10th president July 1, 2009. In this role, Jasinski helped "Reposition and Prepare" the institution in 2009-10, led the University through a "Respond and Transform" phase in 2010-11 and is helping set the stage for an "Executing and Succeeding" phase in 2011 and beyond, all helping the institution remain on the leading edge of excellence and innovation in programs, services and resource management. He also works successfully with internal and external constituencies, especially state and local officials, the Missouri Department of Higher Education, foundations and alumni.

Jasinski is nationally known for his work with the Academic Quality Improvement Program, having aided in the design of the accrediting method, and for his work with the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award. In April, he was appointed to a three-year position on the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award's Panel of Judges by U.S. Department of Commerce Secretary Gary Locke. He also has been a judge for the Missouri Quality Award.

Jasinski is a member of the Northwest Missouri P-20 Council, a committee member for the Missouri Department of Higher Education's Performance Funding Task Force and an ex-officio member of the Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association Expansion Project Team. In addition, he is a member of the American Association of State Colleges and Universities' Membership Retention and Recruitment Committee, Professional Development Planning Committee and Rural Coalition Committee. Jasinski serves on the St. Francis Hospital and Health Services Board of Directors and the Heartland Foundation Board of Trustees.

For more information, please contact:

Mark Hornickel, Communication Manager | 660.562.1704 | Fax: 660.562.1900

Northwest Missouri State University
215 Administration Building | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468