A-Z Index

Doctorate in Education

With the University of Missouri-Columbia

Why earn your doctorate in education?

Northwest and the University of Missouri-Columbia offer a cooperative doctoral degree in leadership. The degree, which will be awarded by the University of Missouri, is a cohort design and requires two summers of coursework on the University of Missouri campus. The remainder of the courses in the fall and spring are taught on the Northwest campus or at Northwest-Kansas City. It is estimated that the completion of the degree will take three to five years.

Admission to the program is determined by a state-wide committee. Coursework is competency based, focuses on leadership, and requires the completion of a dissertation. This advanced degree does not lead to certification. Students involved in the program will be expected to have access to a personal computer and to the Internet, conference call capacities, and other appropriate technologies.

  • Statewide Cooperative EdD Program
  • Entrance Requirements
  • New cohorts beginning every other odd year. Applications due December 1st of even years.
    • Please note that the actual online application can be found here. Students should choose the option that states seeking admission for the summer 2019 term or beyond.

Program Characteristics

  • Students will progress through the program as a cohort.
  • Students from Northwest's region will be in a site cohort at various locations including MU, St. Joseph, Kansas City and other northwest Missouri locales.
  • Coursework will be completed in six contiguous semesters, beginning in the summer and concluding in the winter semester two years later.
  • Dissertation research will follow the two years of coursework.
  • Coursework instruction will occur at each regional site during the fall and winter

Participating Universities

  • Missouri State University
  • Northwest Missouri State University
  • Southeast Missouri State University
  • University of Central Missouri
  • University of Missouri-Columbia
  • University of Missouri-Rolla