This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Bearcats

Press Release


Alison Wulff (left) and Sureena Weir

May 4, 2011

Five earn All-MIAA, Rosewell takes home Coach of the Year

KANSAS CITY, Mo.-Head Coach Mark Rosewell earned his 20th Coach of the Year award and doubles tandem Sureena Weir and Alison Wulff earned first-team All-MIAA honors as the 2011 MIAA Women's Tennis Team was announced Wednesday by the league office.

Rosewell, who now has 451 career women's victories at Northwest, was also named the men's Coach of the Year on Wednesday. Weir, a senior, and Wulff, a junior, were 17-7 this season and 7-1 in the MIAA. They ended the season on a five-match winning streak.

Northwest's top three singles players and the number two doubles team of Freshman Alexis Bartek and Sophomore Emily Hoffman were named second-team all-MIAA selections. Junior Erika Leston at number one, Bartek at number two and Weir at number three were honored in singles play.

Bartek and Hoffman went 13-10 in doubles matches this season and were 7-1 during league play.

Leston, who was a first-team selection in 2009, went 11-11 on the season and went 7-1 in MIAA competition in singles play. Her lone loss came to Southwest Baptist's Mehank Singh, the conference's Player of the Year.

Bartek went 13-6 in singles play during the season and had a 6-1 conference mark. Bartek also won her final four matches of the season. Weir, who earned a second-team nod for the second-straight season, compiled the most singles victories on the team this spring with 16. Weir, who finished 7-1 in MIAA play, finished her Northwest career with 39 singles wins and a .765 winning percentage.

The doubles team of Leston and Freshman Leslee Feldhaus at number one doubles were honorable mention selections.


Mehak Singh, Fr., Southwest Baptist

Mehak Singh, Southwest Baptist

Mark Rosewell, Northwest Missouri

Crystal Guiot, Jr., Southwest Baptist

1S: Mehak Singh, Fr., Southwest Baptist**
2S: Amanda Morris, Sr., Emporia State
3S: Faiga Schmidt, So., Southwest Baptist**
4S: Jamie Blackim, Jr., Washburn
5S: Jenna Hendrickson, Sr., Southwest Baptist
6S: Kristin McKee, Jr., Washburn
1D: Jamie Blackim (Jr.)/Alyssa Castillo (Jr.), Washburn
2D: Mehak Singh (Fr.)/Andjela Panovski (Fr.), Southwest Baptist
3D: Sureena Weir (Sr.)/Alison Wulff (Jr.), Northwest Missouri

**Unanimous Selection

1S: Erika Leston, Jr., Northwest Missouri
2S: Alexis Bartek, Fr., Northwest Missouri
3S: Sureena Weir, Sr., Northwest Missouri
4S: Andjela Panovski, Fr., Southwest Baptist
5S: Alyssa Castillo, Jr., Washburn
6S: Kirsten Ford, Sr., Emporia State
1D: Nicole Jara (Fr.)/Amanda Morris (Sr.), Emporia State
2D: Alexis Bartek (Fr.)/Emily Hoffman (So.), Northwest Missouri
3D: Kirsten Ford (Sr.)/Abby Morris (Fr.), Emporia State

Emporia State: Nicole Jara, Fr., 1S; Shea Schmidt, Jr., 4S; Alex Crowe, So., 5S/2D; Talena Lorren, Sr., 2D.

Fort Hays State: Amy Guilliams, So., 6S.

Nebraska Omaha: Samantha Thomas, Jr., 3S/2D; Jessica Hottman, Fr., 5S/3D; Heather Hottman, Jr., 2D; Caitlin Christy, Jr., 3D.

Northwest Missouri: Leslee Feldhaus, Fr., 1D; Erika Leston, Jr., 1D.

Southwest Baptist: Adrienn Kovacs, So., 2S/1D; Crystal Guiot, Jr., 6S/3D; Faiga Schmidt, So., 1D; Jenna Hendrickson, Sr., 3D.

Truman: Kelsey Kuykendall, Sr., 1S; Ellen Russell, Jr., 3S; Dagmar Velez, Jr., 5S.

Washburn: Whitley Zitsch, Jr., 2S/2D; Morgan Rainey, Jr., 2D; Annie Doole, Jr., 3D; Elektra Hunter, Fr., 3D.

For more information, please contact:

Media Relations Department, Northwest Athletics | 660.562.1118 | Fax: 660.562.1582

Northwest Athletics
Lamkin Activity Center | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468