This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Bearcats

Press Release

Nov. 19, 2008

Three Earn MIAA Honorable Mention Volleyball Honors

Sara Falcone Amber Ryan Paige Spangenberg
Sara Falcone Amber Ryan Paige Spangenberg

MARYVILLE, Mo. - Middle hitters Sara Falcone and Amber Ryan and libero Paige Spangenberg were named to the MIAA Honorable Mention volleyball team, as selected by the league coaches. It's the second straight honor for Falcone and the first for Ryan and Spangenberg.

Falcone led Northwest with a .262 hitting percentage and hit .357 in the final five matches. She set a three-set arena record in the home finale against Missouri Western Nov. 12 at .652 with 15 kills off 23 attempts.

Ryan finished the regular season tied for ninth in MIAA statistics with 0.85 blocks per set and led Northwest in points (403.5), kills (331) and service aces (18). She made three double-doubles in a four-match span from Oct. 28-Nov. 1 to finish the season with six.

Spangenberg set program records in digs in a season (654) and digs per set in a season (5.45). She earned MIAA Specialist of the Week honors Oct. 27 after setting the program single-match record (46) at Fort Hays State Oct. 24. She led the MIAA in digs per set and finished the regular season 12th among Division II players. She currently stands sixth in program career records with 1,247.

Northwest finished the season 10-23 and finished 7-13 in the MIAA, the top conference team not selected for the NCAA tournament.

First Team
++*Allie Cherven, TSU MH 6-1 Sr. St. Charles, Mo.
$$*Monica Miesner, WU OH 5-11 Sr. Florissant, Mo.
+*Arica Shepard, ESU OH 5-9 Jr. Rossville, Kan.
*Sammie Williams, PSU RH 6-1 Sr. Independence, Mo.
++Pamela Cartagena, PSU OH 5-7 Jr. Bayamon, P.R.
+Melissa Keck, TSU RH 6-0 Sr. Belleville, Ill.
*Ting Liu, ESU S 6-1 So. Beijing, China
Rachel Fister, UCM L 5-9 So. Labadie, Mo.

*=Unanimous choice
+=Repeat first-team choice from 2007
++=Repeat first-team choice from 2006 & 2007
$$=Repeat first-team choice from 2005 & 2007

Second Team
Paula Harris, UCM MH 6-1 Fr. Conway Springs, Kan.
Allie Huffman, UCM OH 5-11 Fr. Lee's Summit, Mo.
Linda Igbinigie, PSU MH 6-4 Sr. Richardson, Texas
Megan Koster, ESU OH 5-10 Sr. Clay Center, Kan.
Eli Medina, TSU OH 5-8 Sr. Kansas City, Mo.
Ellen Thommes, UNO MH 6-0 Jr. Omaha, Kan.
Caitlin Pankratz, UCM S 5-7 Jr. Buhler, Kan.
Whitney Boehler, TSU L 5-10 Sr. Olathe, Kan.

Third Team
Hannah Carter, ESU MH 6-0 Sr. Olathe, Kan.
Ashley Jurgensmeyer, SBU MH 6-1 Fr. Osceola, Mo.
Sara Kampschneider, UNO OH 5-10 Jr. Dodge, Neb.
Mollie Lacy, WU MH 5-11 Fr. Lincoln, Neb.
Brittney Miller, ESU RH 5-10 So. Paola, Kan.
Ashley Shepard, WU OH 5-10 So. Rossville, Kan.
Kate Hampson, WU S 5-7 Jr. Fort Collins, Colo.
Kayla Jansen, UNO L 5-6 Jr. Omaha, Neb.

Honorable Mention
Sara Falcone, NWMSU MH 6-0 So. Omaha, Neb.
Klaudia Grelowska, PSU OH/RH 6-1 Sr. Belchatow, Poland
Dana Hanselmann, TSU MH/OH 6-0 Sr. Sleepy Hollow, Ill.
Lillian Rezende, FHSU OH 6-1 Jr. Franca, Brazil
Ashlee Russell, MSSU OH 5-8 So. Spokane, Mo.
Amber Ryan, NWMSU MH 6-0 So. Esko, Minn.
Kelli Sicner, MWSU OH 5-10 So. Omaha, Neb.
Stephanie Nitz, WU MH 6-2 Sr. Moline, Ill.
Jacquelyn Williams, UCM MH 5-11 Sr. Overland Park, Kan.
Emily Myers, UNO S 5-10 Fr. Modesto, Calif.
Ashley Petak, TSU S 5-7 So. Omaha, Neb.
Emily Vosseler, PSU S 5-10 Jr. Leavenworth, Kan.
Amy Byfield, ESU L 5-4 Jr. Mission, Kan.
Kari Hammerbacher, MSSU L 5-2 Jr. Buffalo, Mo.
Molly Smith, WU L 5-5 So. Overland Park, Kan.
Paige Spangenberg, NWMSU L 5-8 So. Red Oak, Iowa

Most Valuable Player: Ting Liu, S, ESU
Freshman of the Year: Allie Huffman, OH, UCM
Coach of the Year: Bing Xu, ESU

For more information, please contact:

Media Relations Department, Northwest Athletics | 660.562.1118 | Fax: 660.562.1582

Northwest Athletics
Lamkin Activity Center | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468