This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Bearcats

Press Release

November 10, 2005

Bearcat Volleyball Gets Two on MIAA Honorable Mention

*Release By: MIAA SID Matt Newbery

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. -- Regular season MIAA champion Washburn had three players selected as first-team All-MIAA in a vote of the conference's women's volleyball coaches.

The Lady Blues (33-1, 15-1 MIAA) had their top two scorers in the regular season -- sophomore OH Monica Miesner (4.45 points per game, .282 Hitting %) and sophomore MH Tessa Jones (4.40 ppg, .291) -- make the first team along with sophomore L Erica Cowhick.

Miesner (pronounced MEES-ner) was second in the MIAA during the regular season in kills (3.87 kpg). She and Jones were ranked sixth and seventh, respectively, in scoring. Cowhick was second in digs (5.35 dpg) and made just 16 reception errors in 115 regular season games.

Chris Herron, who guided the Lady Blues to their second regular-season championship in four seasons, was selected by his peers as Wilson® Coach of the Year. He is 117-25 in his four years at WU.

The MIAA Postseason Tournament's No. 2 seed, Truman (27-5, 15-1 MIAA), had two players make the first team -- junior OH Sarah Shearman (4.24 ppg, .281) and junior OH/S Kelsey Wackerman (.389 ppg, .295, 5.96 assists per game).

Shearman was the only repeat selection from the 2004 All-MIAA first-team, and led the Bulldogs is scoring during the regular season.

Wackerman's work as an all-around performer for Truman earned her MIAA Most Valuable Player honors. She was one of the Bulldogs setters in their usual 6-2 offense, and also was one of their top attackers and defenders. She had 12 triple-doubles (kills-digs-assists) on the season, including seven in a span of eight matches (six in a row) at one point in 2005.

Senior MH Becky Haug (4.70 ppg, .343, 1.22 blocks per game) of Central Missouri State (24-8, 12-4 MIAA) and senior S Kim Edwards (MIAA-best 13.40 apg) of Emporia State (24-6, 11-5 MIAA) round out the first team.

Haug ended the regular season in the MIAA top fives for hitting (3rd), scoring (2nd), blocks (3rd) and kills (3.82 kpg -- 5th). Edwards has climbed to second on the conference's career assist list (5,685) and aiming to become the first three-time leader in the category since the MIAA started tracking stats in 1991 (she led the league in 2002 and 2004).

Pittsburg State RH Sammie Williams (4.96 ppg, .217, 4.36 kpg, 0.80 bpg) was selected as the MIAA Freshman of the Year. She was a bright spot during a rebuilding season for the Gorillas (13-20, 6-10 MIAA), as she led the MIAA in scoring and kills.

First Team
Erica Cowhick, WU L 5-7 So. Topeka, Kan.
Kim Edwards, ESU S 5-7 Sr. Sioux City, Iowa
Becky Haug, CMSU MH 6-0 Sr. Lee's Summit, Mo.
Tessa Jones, WU MH 6-1 So. Lee's Summit, Mo.
Monica Miesner, WU OH 5-11 So. Florissant, Mo.
+Sarah Shearman, TSU OH 5-8 Jr. Manchester, Mo.
Kelsey Wackerman, TSU OH/S 5-11 Jr. Camdenton, Mo.
+=Repeat first-team choice from 2004

Second Team
Leah Griswold, ESU OH 5-9 Jr. Marysville, Kan.
Andi Moran, WU S 5-11 Fr. St. Louis, Mo.
Pam Radell, PSU L 5-10 Sr. Pittsburg, Kan.
Andrea Robertson, CMSU MH 6-0 So. Hermann, Mo.
Katie Tarka, CMSU L 5-9 Jr. St. Charles, Mo.
Micaela Walter, TSU MH 6-0 Sr. Topeka, Kan.
Sammie Williams, PSU RH 6-1 Fr. Fort Osage, Mo.
Kaci Young, CMSU S 5-8 Sr. Littleton, Colo.
Eight listed on second team due to tie in voting

Honorable Mention
Courtney Aguilar, ESU L 5-6 Jr. Lenexa, Kan.
Misti Baser, SBU L 5-3 Jr. Owensville, Mo.
Alyssa Berg, MWSU OH/MH 5-10 Jr. Bellevue, Neb.
Ashley Blickenstaff, MWSU MH 6-0 Jr. Stamford, Neb.
Marian Broderick, MWSU L/OH 5-8 Sr. Wichita, Kan.
Natalie Browning, ESU OH 5-9 Sr. Paola, Kan.
Brooke Butler, CMSU OH 5-9 Fr. Tulsa, Okla.
Mandi Cox, WU MH 6-0 So. Richmond, Kan.
Lauren Cummings, NWMSU MH 6-0 So. Ankeny, Iowa
Hallie Delagardelle, MWSU OH 5-10 Fr. Dike, Iowa
Therese Hand, MWSU S 5-7 Sr. Boulder, Colo.
Sarah Hoffmeister, MSSU OH 5-8 So. Joplin, Mo.
Sarah Joles, MSSU S 5-8 Fr. Blue Springs, Mo.
Chelsea Kenney, SBU S 5-8 So. Stockton, Mo.
Melissa Malone, MWSU OH 5-10 Jr. Roca, Neb.
Ashley Mehrer, MSSU MH 6-1 Jr. Kansas City, Mo.
Megan Norman, MSSU L 5-6 Jr. Stockton, Mo.
Megan Remley, TSU MH 6-0 Sr. Kearney, Mo.
Whitney Stare, SBU MH 6-0 Fr. Allen, Texas
Laura Toman, PSU OH 6-1 So. Wichita, Kan.
Sarah Trowbridge, NWMSU OH 5-9 Jr. Boone,Iowa
Sarah Wohlgemuth, PSU S 5-10 Sr. Atchison, Kan.

Most Valuable Player
Kelsey Wackerman, OH/S, TSU

Freshman of the Year

Sammie Williams, RH, PSU

Wilson® Coach of the Year
Chris Herron, WU

For more information, please contact:

Media Relations Department, Northwest Athletics | 660.562.1118 | Fax: 660.562.1582

Northwest Athletics
Lamkin Activity Center | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468