This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Bearcats

Press Release

Nov. 19, 2003

Heston Receives Conference Honors

Courtesy of Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. -- The 2003 MIAA champion Truman Bulldogs swept the major awards, while the first-team All-MIAA Volleyball list is dominated by players from teams competing in the NCAA Division II South Central Regional following a vote of the league's coaches.

The Bulldogs (31-4, 15-1 MIAA) had senior S Rachael Shedd earn the Most Valuable Player award, OH Sarah Shearman collected the Freshman of the Year award, and head coach Qi Wang (pronounced CHEE WONG) was honored as Wilson® Coach of the Year. Truman is the host and top seed in the regional.

Shedd had the daunting task of replacing a four-time All-MIAA selection and a 2002 All-America at setter, and she succeeded in leading the Bulldogs back to the postseason. She enters the regional leading the MIAA in assists (12.89 per game).

Shearman helped the cause for Shedd, as she's hitting .258 and averaging 4.76 points (6th in the MIAA) and 4.43 kills per game (2nd in the MIAA) in her first collegiate season. She also picked up honorable mention All-MIAA recognition.

Truman almost lost Wang, who accepted a Division I job last spring before changing his mind and returning. He's four wins shy of reaching 100 in just his third season as a college head coach.

Shedd is joined on the first team by a teammate, junior OH Jessica Sears, the MIAA leader in points (5.21 ppg) and kills (4.66 kpg). Pittsburg State (26-7, 11-5 MIAA), the No. 2 seed in the regional, has senior S Chrissy Elder and senior OH Dina Wathan on the first team. Central Missouri State (24-10, 11-5 MIAA), the regional's No. 3 seed was represented by senior OH Carrie Potthast and freshman L Katie Tarka.

Junior OH Dani McHenry of Washburn (26-10, 9-7 MIAA) joins Wathan and Potthast as repeat first-team choices from 2002.

First Team
Chrissy Elder, PSU S 5-7 Sr. Kansas City, Mo.
+Dani McHenry, WU OH 6-0 Jr. Topeka, Kan.
+Carrie Potthast, CMSU OH 5-10 Sr. St. Rose, Ill.
Jessica Sears, TSU OH 5-10 Jr. Colchester, Ill.
Rachael Shedd, TSU S 5-10 Sr. Omaha, Neb.
Katie Tarka, CMSU L 5-9 Fr. St. Charles, Mo.
+Dina Wathan, PSU OH 5-10 Sr. Blue Springs, Mo.

+=Repeat first-team choice from 2002

Second Team
Kim Edwards, ESU S 5-7 So. Sioux City, Iowa
Gloria Ilariogun, PSU MH 6-2 Sr. Dallas, Texas
Amy Little, MSSU OH 5-8 Sr. Nixa, Mo.
Elyse Mohme, CMSU MH 6-2 Jr. Columbia, Ill.
Jackie Gallagher, MSSU OH 5-11 Jr. Glendale, Ariz.
Tiffany Graham, TSU MH 6-0 So. Holden, Mo.
Alycia Ryff, ESU MH 6-1 Sr. Hope, Kan.
Mandy Stratton, ESU L 5-7 Sr. Wichita, Kan.

Eight players on second team due to tie in voting.

Honorable Mention
Kristanella Allain, SBU OH 5-11 Sr. Christchurch, Barbados
Alecia Barron, WU L 5-4 Sr. Topeka, Kan.
Becky Brosnahan, MWSC MH 6-1 Jr. Olathe, Kan.
Jessica Brown, MSSU L 5-3 Sr. Stark City, Mo.
Marianne Carrier, PSU MH 6-0 Sr. Wichita, Kan.
Trudy Carter, CMSU RH 6-2 Sr. Overbrook, Kan.
Shelly Chiles, MWSC OH 5-9 So. Lincoln, Neb.
Susan Crooks, WU OH 6-0 Sr. Silver Lake, Kan.
Mandy Dreiling, ESU OH 5-8 Sr. Holcomb, Kan.
Lindsay Fuller, MWSC MH 6-0 Sr. Liberty, Mo.
Therese Hand, MWSC S 5-7 So. Boulder, Colo.
Becky Haug, CMSU MH 6-0 So. Lee's Summit, Mo.
Mackenzie Heston, NWMSU MH 5-10 Fr. Ankeny, Iowa
CJ Mahoney, PSU OH 5-10 Fr. Overland Park, Kan.
Lindsey Mason, MSSU MH 5-11 Sr. Edmond, Okla.
Kym Mutert, MSSU S 5-8 Sr. Washington, Mo.
Anna Neufeld, WU MH 6-0 Sr. Silver Lake, Kan.
Ashley Patey, TSU L 5-10 Sr. Wildwood, Mo.
Jessie Puszewski, MSSU OH 5-11 Sr. Papillion, Neb.
Megan Remley, TSU MH 6-0 So. Kearney, Mo.
Sarah Shearman, TSU OH 5-8 Fr. Manchester, Mo.
Katie Smith, PSU OH 5-10 Sr. Leawood, Kan.
Jessica Stambaugh, ESU OH 5-9 Sr. Topeka, Kan.
Kaci Young, CMSU S 5-8 So. Littleton, Colo.

Most Valuable Player
Rachael Shedd, S, TSU

Freshman of the Year
Sarah Shearman, OH, TSU

Wilson® Coach of the Year
Qi Wang, TSU

For more information, please contact:

Media Relations Department, Northwest Athletics | 660.562.1118 | Fax: 660.562.1582

Northwest Athletics
Lamkin Activity Center | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468