This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Bearcats

Press Release

March 7, 2011

Northwest signs eight athletes

Northwest Missouri State head track and field coach Scott Lorek has announced the signing of eight athletes who will join the Bearcats next season. A list of the eight and information about each can be found below:

Chandelar Carey (Eagleville, Mo.)

Carey was a two-sport athlete at North Harrison High School. Carey set school records in four events as a Shamrock in the 100-, 200- and 400-meter dashes and the triple jump. She received the MSHSAA Award of Excellence in Sportsmanship and won nine state medals. Carey was also a member of National Honor Society and attended Missouri Girls State. She also earned all-conference and all-district honors in softball.

Christopher Anderson (Norwalk, Iowa)

Anderson was a four-time all-conference performer in cross country at Norwalk High School. He placed eighth in the 3,200-meter run and 10th in the 1,600-meter run at the class 3A state track and field meet in 2010. 

Natasha Swanson (Boone, Iowa)

Swanson was named the team MVP in 2010 when she placed 11th at state in the 3,000-meter run for Boone High School. She ran in the 4-kilometer state cross country meet that year and finished with a time of 15:30, helping her team to a 15th-place finish at state.  Swanson was a member of Boone's honor roll, a recipient of the Goeppinger Award and a three-year academic letter recipient.

Logan Tucker-Nelson (Kansas City, Mo.)

Tucker-Nelson was a two-sport athlete at Park Hill South High School in Kansas City, Mo. She ran cross country and track and field and placed first in the 800-meters at her conference meet in 2009 with a time of 2:30.08. Tucker-Nelson also won her cross country conference meet with a time of 23:24.42 in the 5,000-meters this past season.

Chloe Wichmann (Kirksville, Mo.)

Wichmann was a three-time state qualifier for Kirksville High School. Wichmann placed fifth at the state meet as a member of the 4x400 relay team in 2009. She is a three-time conference champion, a three-time district champion and a two-time sectional champion.

Drew Keefer (Kansas City, Mo.)

Keefer was a cross country state champion in 2010 for St. Pius X in Kansas City. He qualified for the state cross country meet in 2008 and 2009, and was a state qualifier for the 3,200-meter run in 2010. Keefer helped his cross country team place second at state in 2008 and third in 2010. In 2010, Keefer was a member of the Principal's Honor Roll.

Eli Smith (Troy, Kansas)

Smith was regional champion in the 100- and 200-meter dashes for Troy High School. He was a Delaware Valley League Champion in the 100 and placed second in the 200. In 2010, Smith placed seventh in the 100 and fifth in the 200 at the state championships.

Alexis Boyd (Marshall, Minn.)

Boyd ran track and field for Marshall High School. In 2009, she helped her team win the conference title for the first time in 21 years. Boyd also broke the school record for the 400-meter dash at sectionals.




For more information, please contact:

Media Relations Department, Northwest Athletics | 660.562.1118 | Fax: 660.562.1582

Northwest Athletics
Lamkin Activity Center | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468