This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Bearcats

Press Release

May 6, 2007

Men Finish Fifth, Women Seventh, at MIAA Outdoor Championships

HAYS, Kan. -- Four Bearcat men won individual events to lead the Northwest Missouri State men's track and field team to a fifth place finish the Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association at Fort Hays State. Fourteen men earned All-MIAA accolades. The women finished eventh with 80.5 points, placing nine on the All-MIAA squad. The top six finishers in each event earn All-MIAA honors.

Senior Eric Isley defended his 800-meter run title, winning the eent with 1:51.67, becoming the first Bearcat to win MIAA 800-meter titles back-to-back since Donald Davenport did the same in 1924-25.

Sophomore Khai Berry won the 110-meter hurdles in 14.64, lowering his NCAA provisional qualifying mark in the preliminaries with a 14.44-second time.

Senior Bayo Adio also repeated as the MIAA High Jump Champion, jumping 6-11. Freshman Jacob Dupin also grabbed All-MIAA status with a tie for seventh with 6-1 1/2. Adio also led Northwest in the long jump with a fourth-place finish (22-5 3/4) and finished second in the triple jump with 47-3 3/4 behind senior Diezeas Calbert, who recorded 48-9 to win the event. Calbert also placed eighth in the long jump with 21-11 3/4. Junior Kendall Wright was the third Bearcat to earn conference honors in the horiztonal jumps, placing seventh in the long jump with 22 1/4.

Sophomore Sheldon Cook led the Bearcats in both of the shorter sprint events, finishing fifth in the 100-meter dash and fourth in the 200-meter dash. Junior Isaac Lopez was the only Bearcat to advance to the finals of the 400-meter dash, finishing eight with 50.59.

Junior John Bullock set a personal record in a runner-up performance in the 400-meter hurdles, clocking 53.50 seconds. Bullock joined Isley, Lopez and sophomore Ron Purnell to finish second in the 4x400-meter relay with a season-record 3:17.28.

Junior Clif McIntosh improved his personal record to 15-9 1/4 in the pole vault, finishing fourth. Junior Courtland Ingram added to his All-MIAA collection with a tie for sixth in the pole vault with 14-11 1/2.

A pair of freshman led the Northwest men in the throwing events, with Eric Rickert earning fifth with 52 feet and Ben McKim earned seventh with 51-1 1/2 in the shot put.

Sophomore Audrey Bailey claimed the only MIAA title for the women, winning the 400-meter hurdles with a NCAA provisional time of 1:02.75. Bailey sits fourth on the all-time performer list, just four-hundredths of a second from third. Junior Hannah Henry finished sixth in the event with 1:06.53.

Henry led a quartet of Bearcats in the 100-meter hurdles, finishing third with 14.61 seconds. She was followed by freshman Johanna Avilez in fourth with 14.62, sophomore Chelsea Dightman in sixth with 15.13 and junior Brandi Honeywell in seventh with 15.43.

Junior Karah Spader finished runner-up in the 10,000-meter run in 40:45.75. She also recorded a season-best in the 5,000-meter run with an eight-place finish, timing 18:36.04. Sophomore Anna O'Brien also earned another All-MIAA honor for the distance runners, taking fourth in the 1,500-meter run with 4:50.37.

The women's 4x400-meter relay squad of Bailey, Henry, Honeywell and freshman Kelly Raffety placed second with a season-record 3:54.81, breaking the Northwest school record of 3:55.64 set in 1986.

Sophomore Tierney Eaton tied for fourth with a 5-4 1/4 jump in the high jump. Honeywell set a personal record in the long jump with a 17-8 1/4 mark for fourth place. Along with a runner-up finish in the heptathlon, Honeywell paced the Bearcats with 17 points.

Northwest will have one last chance to qualify additional athletes for the NCAA Championships at the Emporia State Twilight Qualifier on May 12. The NCAA Outdoor Championships will take place May 24-26 in Charlotte, N.C.

NOTES: Bailey is the first individual champion for Northwest since Alisha Samuel won the 100-meter dash in 2005 and the first in the 400-meter hurdles since Kim Spriggs won the event in 1988 ... Berry's 110-meter hurdle title is the first for Northwest since Renwick Bovell won in 1990.

For more information, please contact:

Media Relations Department, Northwest Athletics | 660.562.1118 | Fax: 660.562.1582

Northwest Athletics
Lamkin Activity Center | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468