This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Bearcats

Press Release

November 9,2005

Bearcats Land Two on MIAA Second Team and One on Honorable Mention

Story written by Matt Newbery, MIAA offices

-- The Missouri Southern Lions had five players earn first-team recognition on the 2005 All-MIAA Women's Soccer Team, as voted on by the league's coaches.

Sophomore GK Kaney Tyler and freshman M Nikki Llewellyn led the way for the Lions (11-5-4, 7-3-4 MIAA) on the first team, and both also picked up awards as well.

Tyler was selected as the MIAA Most Valuable Player after posting the second-best shots-on-goal save percentage in NCAA Division II (91.1) and a league-leading 0.58 goals against average (12th in Division II this week) with 10 shutouts.

Llewellyn (14 goals, 2 assists, 30 points) was selected as Freshman of the Year. She also was one of two unanimous choices to the first team (Washburn freshman F Jessica Mainz being the other).Llewellyn led the conference in goals (0.70 per game) and tied Mainz (13g-4a-30pts) for the MIAA scoring lead ( 1.50 ppg).

MSSU also had junior B Jessica Buhman (0g-1a-1pt), freshman B Christina Kleekamp (4g-1a-9pts) and sophomore F Erin Gfeller (6g-2a-14pts) earn first-team recognition.

No other team had more than three on the first team. Mainz and senior B Lora Westling (0g-1a-1pt) represented the WU Lady Blues (11-5-4, 7-3-4 MIAA) on the list, while head coach Tim Collins was honored by his peers as Brine® Coach of the Year.

He's needed just three seasons to bring his fledgling program into contention for the conference titles, as the Lady Blues finished tied with MSSU and Central Missouri State (11-8-1, 8-5-1 MIAA) for second in the MIAA -- two points behind seven-time league champion Truman (10-7-3, 8-3-3 MIAA).The MIAA champs were represented by senior B Asdis Finnsdottir (0g-0a-0pts), senior M Lauren Cepicky (4g-5a-13pts) and junior M Robyn Mortenson (5g-0a-10pts).

CMSU had a pair of freshmen earn first-team honors in F Hazel Cox (12g-4a-28pts) and M Carrie Twellman (9g-2a-20pts).

Senior M Priscilla Duncan (1g-4a-6pts) of Southwest Baptist (4-9-4, 4-7-3 MIAA) was the only repeat selection from the 2004 All-MIAA first-team.

First Team
Kaney Tyler, MSSU GK 5-7 So. Topeka, Kan.
Asdis Finnsdottir, TSU B 5-8 Sr. Hafnarfjordur, Iceland
Jessica Buhman, MSSU B 5-4 Jr. Olathe, Kan.
Christina Kleekamp, MSSU B 5-6 Fr. Defiance, Mo.
Lora Westling, WU B 5-10 Sr. Casper, Wyo.
*Nikki Llewellyn, MSSU M 5-7 Fr. O'Fallon, Mo.
Lauren Cepicky, TSU M 5-6 Sr. St. Louis, Mo.
+Priscilla Duncan, SBU M 5-4 Sr. Auckland, New Zealand
Carrie Twellman, CMSU M 5-4 Fr. Chesterfield, Mo.
*Jessica Mainz, WU F 5-9 Fr. Topeka, Kan.
Hazel Cox, CMSU F 5-5 Fr. Olathe, Kan.
Erin Gfeller, MSSU F 5-3 So. Overland Park, Kan.
Melodie Zdanek, ESU F 5-7 So. Overland Park, Kan.

*=Unanimous selection +=First-team All-MIAA in 2004
Four forwards selected due to a tie in voting

Second Team
Jenna Hatlestad, WU GK 5-6 Jr. Olathe, Kan.
Jessica Braun, NWMSU B 5-8 Fr. Omaha, Neb.
Kelsi Ginavan, CMSU B 5-5 So. Olathe, Kan.
Mallory Milburn, CMSU B 5-8 Jr. Olathe, Kan.
Kelsey Thomas, MSSU B 5-2 Fr. Manhattan, Kan.
Ashley Turner, MSSU B 5-10 So. Columbia, Mo.
Kim Wolff, TSU B 5-4 Fr. Florissant, Mo.
Molly Benson, TSU M 5-3 Sr. Rockford, Ill.
Jamie Lawrence, CMSU M 5-2 So. Olathe, Kan.
Robyn Mortenson, TSU M 5-4 Jr. Lake Villa, Ill.
Lauren Schwindt, WU M 5-5 Jr. McPherson, Kan.
Brandie Booth, ESU F 5-5 Sr. Emporia, Kan.
Kayla Griffin, NWMSU F 5-6 Jr. Lee's Summit, Mo.
Jolene Silovsky, WU M 5-9 Jr. Topeka, Kan.
Six backs selected due to a tie in voting

Honorable Mention

Lauren Davis, TSU GK 5-8 Jr. Springfield, Mo.
Maureen Bylina, TSU B 5-4 Sr. Chicago, Ill.
Lisa Fahey, WU B 5-7 Fr. Parkville, Mo.
Katie Flower, NWMSU B 5-5 Sr. Blackjack, Mo.
Alicia Givens, CMSU B 5-0 Sr. Owasso, Okla.
Melody Grayem, MWSU B 5-9 Jr. Orangeville, Calif.
Andrea Harris, ESU B 5-3 Jr. Wichita, Kan.
Kaydi Hooker, WU B 5-6 Fr. Casper, Wyo.
Jenny Jaggard, SBU B 5-6 So. Minden, Nev.
Adrienne Johnson, SBU B 5-3 Jr. Springfield, Mo.
Valerie Chaston, SBU M 5-7 Sr. Kearney, Mo.
Amy Davis, MSSU M 5-5 So. Fenton, Mo.
Amanda Geist, WU M 5-3 Jr. Topeka, Kan.
Sarah Tetuan, ESU M 5-2 Fr. Topeka, Kan.
Nikki Heiser, MWSU F 5-5 Jr. Walla Walla, Wash.
Atefeh Heivary, SBU F 5-1 So. London, England
Landri Schmitt, CMSU F 5-5 Fr. Olathe, Kan.

Most Valuable Player:
Kaney Tyler, GK, MSSU

Freshman of the Year:

Nikki Lewellyn, M, MSSU

Brine® Coach of the Year:

Tim Collins, WU

For more information, please contact:

Media Relations Department, Northwest Athletics | 660.562.1118 | Fax: 660.562.1582

Northwest Athletics
Lamkin Activity Center | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468