This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Bearcats

Press Release


April 25, 2012

Six Bearcats highlight All-MIAA First Team

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Three singles players and two doubles duos from 2012 MIAA men's tennis regular season and tournament champion Northwest Missouri State were named All-MIAA First Team to highlight the all-conference team released Wednesday by the league office.

The selections were made by the league's five head coaches, and coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players.

Mario Jakovljevic, Guilherme Narducci and Jason Harris all earned first team accolades in men’s singles.

Rafael Bugiga and Narducci earned first team honors at No. 2 doubles while Calvin Patterson and Luis Altimires were named first teamers at No. 3 doubles.

Northwest head coach Mark Rosewell was selected as the MIAA Coach of the Year for the ninth time in men's tennis after guiding the Bearcats to a perfect 4-0 league record (19-4 overall) and the conference regular season and tournament championships.

Southwest Baptist junior Domingos Carissimo is the unanimous choice for MIAA Player of the Year after a season in which he went 15-2 at No. 1 singles and 17-2 at No. 1 doubles. The Pohta Nova, Brazil, native was also an All-MIAA First Team selection at No. 1 singles as well as No. 1 doubles.

Southwest Baptist’s Kristof Kinal was named the MIAA Freshman of the Year. The Budapest, Hungary, product went 13-6 at No. 3 singles and 12-7 at No. 2 doubles. Kinal was also an All-MIAA First Team selection at No. 3 singles and was named All-MIAA Second Team at No. 2 doubles.


Domingos Carissimo, Jr., Southwest Baptist

Kristof Kinal, Southwest Baptist

Mark Rosewell, Northwest Missouri

Eric McCollough, Sr., Truman

1S: Domingos Carissimo, Jr., Southwest Baptist
2S: Mario Jakovljevic, Jr., Northwest Missouri**
3S: Kristof Kinal, Fr., Southwest Baptist
4S: Guilherme Narducci, Jr., Northwest Missouri**
5S: Daniel Cardona, So., Southwest Baptist** [r1]
6S: Jason Harris, Fr., Northwest Missouri**
1D: Domingos Carissimo (Jr.)/Jorge Margiotta (Sr.), Southwest Baptist [r1]
2D: Rafael Bugiga (Jr.)/Guilherme Narducci (Jr.), Northwest Missouri**
3D: Calvin Patterson (Sr.)/Luis Altimires (So.), Northwest Missouri**

**Unanimous Selection
[r1] - Repeat first team selection from last season

1S: Calvin Patterson, Sr., Northwest Missouri
2S: Jorge Margiotta, Sr., Southwest Baptist
3S: Rafael Bugiga, Jr., Northwest Missouri
4S: Jorge Palacios, Sr., Southwest Baptist
5S: Luis Altimires, So., Northwest Missouri
6S: Chance Joost, So., Washburn
1D: Jose Ortega (So.)/Mario Jakovljevic (Jr.), Northwest Missouri
2D: Daniel Cardona (So.)/Kristof Kinal (Fr.), Southwest Baptist
3D: Jorge Palacios (Sr.)/Tyler Welch (Sr.), Southwest Baptist

Emporia State: Mat Edwards, Jr., 2S/1D; Ethan Deckert, Sr., 4S; Matt Van Horn, Sr., 5S/2D; Andrew Davids, Fr., 1D; Mitch Kibbe, Jr., 2D.

Truman: Mike Merchant, So., 6S/3D; Adam King, So., 3D.

Washburn: Arkadiusz Kozaczuk, So., 1S/1D; Pascal Laucht, So., 2S/2D; Steven Fletcher, So., 3S/3D; Maciej Winiarz, Fr., 5S/1D; Bobby Florence, So., 2D; Dario Munoz, Fr., 3D.

For more information, please contact:

Media Relations Department, Northwest Athletics | 660.562.1118 | Fax: 660.562.1582

Northwest Athletics
Lamkin Activity Center | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468