This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Bearcats

Press Release

April 29, 2010

Harrison Named MIAA Player of the Year

MARYVILLE, Mo.-Five singles players and one doubles duo from the 2010 MIAA men's tennis regular season co-champion and tournament champion Northwest Missouri State were named first-team All-MIAA to highlight the 2010 MIAA Men's Tennis Team released Thursday by the conference office.

Included amongst the singles players is junior Malcolm Harrison who has been named the MIAA's Player of the Year. Harrison is 22-3 at No. 1 singles and 18-7 at No. 1 doubles. He began the season with 14 consecutive singles wins and has beaten the top player of nine nationally-ranked teams in duals this season.

Harrison is the first Northwest Player of the Year since the MIAA switched to its current championship format in 2003. He went 4-0 in both singles and doubles play in helping the 21st-ranked Bearcats win the conference tournament last weekend.

Northwest head coach Mark Rosewell was selected MIAA Coach of the Year for the seventh time in men's tennis after guiding the Bearcats to their first conference title since 2002. Rosewell has his team in the NCAA tournament for the 10th time in the last 11 seasons.

Felipe Gennari (21-10, 4-1 MIAA), Calvin Patterson (22-3, 5-0), Ryan Westerhof (9-4, 4-0) and Giovanni Auricchio (18-4, 4-0) were first-team choices at the three, four, five and six singles positions, respectively. Auricchio, a junior, is a three-time All-MIAA choice while Gennari, a senior, is an All-MIAA singles player for the second time.

Gennari and Patterson (9-2, 4-1) are first-team selections at number three doubles. Westerhof and teammate Vijit Sehgal (20-8, 3-2) earned second-team nods at number two doubles. It's the third all-conference doubles honor for Gennari and second for Sehgal.

At 21-4, Northwest has tied the program's record for dual wins in season. The Bearcats will look to break the record May 6 when they take on Cameron in the first round of the NCAA tournament.


Malcolm Harrison, Jr., Northwest Missouri

Domingos Carissimo, Southwest Baptist

Mark Rosewell, Northwest Missouri

Kevin Schoon, Sr., Emporia State

1S: Malcolm Harrison, Jr., Northwest Missouri
1S: Marton Zsiga, Sr., Southwest Baptist [r1]
1S: Branden Joost, Sr., Washburn
2S: Domingos Carissimo, Fr., Southwest Baptist**
3S: Felipe Gennari, Sr., Northwest Missouri
4S: Calvin Patterson, So., Northwest Missouri**
5S: Ryan Westerhof, So., Northwest Missouri
6S: Giovanni Auricchio, Jr., Northwest Missouri
1D: Ryan Ward (Sr.)/Simon Blondin (Sr.), Washburn
2D: Branden Joost (Sr.)/Adam Rens (Sr.), Washburn
3D: Felipe Gennari (Sr.)/Calvin Patterson (So.), Northwest Missouri

**Unanimous Selection
[r1] - Repeat first team selection from last season

[Note: Ties in voting created additional spots at 1S]

2S: Ryan Ward, Sr., Washburn
3S: Jorge Margiotta, So., Southwest Baptist
4S: Yann Kasay, Sr., Washburn
5S: Brandon Finerty, Fr., Southwest Baptist
6S: Tyler Welch, So., Southwest Baptist
6S: Emmanuel Laurent, Jr., Washburn
1D: Domingos Carissimo (Fr.)/Marton Zsiga (Sr.), Southwest Baptist
2D: Vijit Sehgal (Jr.)/Ryan Westerhof (So.), Northwest Missouri
3D: Eric McCollough (So.)/Mark Sturley (So.), Truman

[Note: Ties in voting created an additional spot at 6S]

Emporia State: Spencer Pozek, Sr., 5S; Mitchel Kibbe, Fr., 6S.

Northwest Missouri: Vijit Sehgal, Jr., 2S; Raphael Oliveira, Fr., 6S/1D; Malcolm Harrison, Jr., 1D.

Southwest Baptist: Jorge Palacios, So., 4S; Brandon Finerty, Fr., 2D; Jorge Margiotta, So., 2D.

Truman: Kyle Schlotz, Sr., 3S/1D; Eric McCollough, So., 4S; Colin Boswell, Jr., 5S; John Rothfusz, Sr., 1D.

Washburn: Simon Blondin, Sr., 3S; Adam Rens, Sr., 5S; Yann Kasay, Sr., 3D; Emmanuel Laurent, Jr., 3D.

For more information, please contact:

Media Relations Department, Northwest Athletics | 660.562.1118 | Fax: 660.562.1582

Northwest Athletics
Lamkin Activity Center | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468