This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Bearcats

Press Release

Sept. 29, 2006

Five Northwest Tennis Men advance to Sweet 16

MARYVILLE, Mo. - ( draw sheets) The mens tennis team at Northwest Missouri State had five men advance to the sweet 16 today in the 2006 ITA North Central Regional Tournament. Lucas Ariboni, Cody Pflugradt, Pablo Acebedo, Daniel Usieto, and Chris Smith will all play tomorrow for a chance to advance to the final four. Acebdo received the #3 seed and Usieto received #8 from ITA. Coach Mark Rosewell commented that, "five players in the sweet 16 is the most Northwest has ever had in the ITA singles tournament."

Washburn, led by #1 seed Rutger Vliegenburg, placed three players in the final 16. Daniel Prerad of Southwest Baptist, who advanced four players, received the #2 seed. Both players, along with #4 seed Nathan Martin of Washburn, all got first round byes.

In doubles Northwest also excelled with all three teams advancing to the quarterfinals. The team of Pablo Acebedo and Daniel Usieto received a first round bye, while the other teams had to win two matches today. Three Washburn teams are also in the mix along with one team from Truman State and Southwest Baptist.

Tomorrows action will begin at 9:00 a.m. Finals are scheduled for 11 a.m. at the Grube Courts on Sun, Oct. 1.

The ITA is the governing body of collegiate tennis and promotes the athletic and academic achievements of collegiate tennis. The ITA Small College Championships began in 1986, and are the only national tournaments for singles and doubles at the NCAA Division II level. More information on the ITA and the national tournament can be found at