This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Bearcats

Press Release


Feb. 2, 2012

Kyle Haake named to Academic All-District Team

MARYVILLE, Mo. – Senior guard, Kyle Haake, was announced as one of five student-athletes voted to the Capital One NCAA Division II Academic All-District 6 First-Team as selected by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA).

The Harlan, Iowa, native holds a 3.50 GPA with a double major in biology/psychology at Northwest.

Haake leads the Bearcats in three-point percentage and is fifth in the MIAA at 43.2 percent. He is also averaging 9.6 points per game for the first-place Bearcats as they head into Saturday’s matchup with Pittsburg State looking to clinch the first spot in the MIAA postseason tournament.

Joining Haake on the first-team is Andrew Davis and Desmond King both of Texas A&M-Commerce, Ryan Dougherty of Southwest Baptist, Weston Jameson of Harding and Kramer Soderberg of future MIAA foe Lindenwood.

First‐team Academic All‐District ® honorees advance to the Capital One Academic All‐America® Team ballot, where first‐, second‐ and third‐team All‐America honorees will be selected later this month.

The 2012 Capital One Academic All‐District ® Men’s Basketball Teams, selected by the College Sports Information Directors of America, have been released to recognize the nation’s top student‐athletes for their combined performances athletically and in the classroom. Capital One became the entitlement rights holder to CoSIDA’s Academic All‐America teams programs in 2011.

The Academic All‐District ® teams include the student‐athletes listed on the following pages and are divided into eight geographic districts across the United States and Canada. This is the first year of the expanded Academic All‐America® program as CoSIDA moves from recognizing a University Division (Division I) and a College Division (all non‐Division I) and doubles the number of scholar‐athletes honored. The teams include NCAA Division I, NCAA Division II and NCAA Division III participants, while the College Division team combines NAIA, Canadian and two‐year schools.

For more information, please contact:

Media Relations Department, Northwest Athletics | 660.562.1118 | Fax: 660.562.1582

Northwest Athletics
Lamkin Activity Center | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468