This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Bearcats

Press Release

March 26, 2008

Seven Bearcats Named to Commissioner's Honor Roll

KANSAS CITY, Mo.-Northwest Missouri State placed seven winter season student-athletes on the MIAA Commissioner's Academic Honor Roll announced by the conference office.

Head Coach Gene Steinmeyer and his women's basketball team had four selections while coach Steve Tappmeyer saw three members of his men's team qualify.

The men's three selections were second to only Truman's four. Truman had six selections on the women's side and Emporia State and Fort Hays had five members named to the honor roll.

The four Bearcat women, Lindsay Bayer, Jessica Burton, April Miller and Micaela Uriell, were the same four that made the 2007 honor roll. Miller and Andy Peterson from the Bearcat men's team have been named to the list for the third time in their careers.

Hunter Henry is a second-time selection to the honor roll and senior Matt Withers is a first-time member.

To be named to the honor roll, student-athletes must:
1. Have a cumulative grade-point average of 3.00 or better at the qualifying institution
2. Have at least two terms of attendance at the member school, excluding summer sessions
3. Be a sophomore, junior or senior in athletic eligibility

Women's Basketball:
Lindsay Bayer (Jr., Zoology)
Jessica Burton (Jr., Special Education)
April Miller (Sr., Marketing and Management)
Micaela Uriell (Jr., Merchandising)

Men's Basketball:
Hunter Henry (Jr., Social Science)
Andy Peterson (Sr., Agricultural Economics and Horticulture)
Matt Withers (Sr., Psychology)

For more information, please contact:

Media Relations Department, Northwest Athletics | 660.562.1118 | Fax: 660.562.1582

Northwest Athletics
Lamkin Activity Center | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468