This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Bearcats

1997 Football Team

One of the hardest things for a team to do is continue the level of success that those before you have achieved. The 1997 Northwest football faced this tough task after the previous Bearcat team had reached the NCAA playoffs for only the second time in school history; however, these Bearcats rose to the challenge of high expectations culminating with a MIAA Championship and a final record of 12-1. The season also saw the beginning of an impressive string of 41-straight MIAA wins that lasted until the 2001 season, a record that has since been surpassed by another group of Bearcats. A win over your rivals is always sweet, but the 1997 team earned the first win at national power, Pittsburg State, since the 1976 season. They went on to advance to the National Quarterfinals of the NCAA playoffs before losing to eventual national champion Northern Colorado.

It comes as no surprise the 1997 squad has now seen four individuals enter the M-Club Hall of Fame with Chris Greisen’s induction in 2007, Tucker Woolsey’s induction in 2010 and this year with Aaron Becker and Tony Miles.