This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Bearcats

1987 Women's Tennis

1987 Women's Tennis Team
Back row: Head Coach Mark Rosewell, Julie Steffensen, Tammy Rawdon, Kelly Leintz, Asst. Coach George Adeyemi.
Front row: Barbara Carillo, Jody Johnson, Amy Anderson
Not pictured: Pam Tatro, Patty Dingfield, Blossom Bolton
2006 Induction

The 1987 women's tennis teams combined with the 1987 men's tennis team to become the first school to win MIAA titles in both sports in the same season, a feat that no other school has accomplished to date.

The women's program went 15-2 overall and won its first of 10 MIAA titles with head coach Mark Rosewell at the helm. Led by No. 1 singles netter Kelly Leinst, the Bearcats also claimed five of six singles championships.

Rosewell, who was in his third season in 1987, was honored with MIAA Women's Coach of the Year laurels.