This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Bearcats

Press Release


Jan. 21, 2014

Seven Bearcats earn Don Hansen honors


PITTSBURG, Kan. – Seven members of the 2013 Northwest Missouri State football team were named to the Don Hansen All-America team in a release by the committee on Tuesday.

Defensive end Matt Longacre was named the co-Defensive Player of the Year and earned first team All-America honors. Linebacker Eric Reimer, defensive back Brandon Dixon and offensive lineman Cody Carlson joined Longacre on the first team. Defensive lineman Brandon Yost was named to the second team and linebacker DJ Gnader earned third team honors. Quarterback Trevor Adams earned honorable mention accolade from the committee.

Head coach Adam Dorrel was selected as the Don Hansen National Coach of the Year after leading the Bearcats to a perfect 15-0 record and Northwest’s fourth NCAA Division II National Championship.

The Don Hansen Division II All-America Team carries out the legacy of long-time small college football advocate Don Hansen, who passed away at age 75 on Aug. 29, 2010. Hansen, from Brookfield, Ill., started and published Don Hansen’s National Weekly Football Gazette for three decades, selecting NCAA Division II All-America teams for the first time in 1988.

The Don Hansen Football Committee selected All-Super Region teams in December and early January, with the first-team and second-team All-Super Region players advancing to the national ballot.

First Team All-America
DE - Matt Longacre (co-Defensive Player of the Year)
OG – Cody Carlson
LB – Eric Reimer
CB – Brandon Dixon

Second Team All-America
DT – Brandon Yost

Third Team All-America
LB – DJ Gnader

Honorable Mention All-America
QB – Trevor Adams

For more information, please contact:

Media Relations Department, Northwest Athletics | 660.562.1118 | Fax: 660.562.1582

Northwest Athletics
Lamkin Activity Center | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468