This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Bearcats

Press Release

April 4, 2013

Two former Bearcats and’09 Football team elected to 2013 MIAA Hall of Fame class

MARYVILLE, Mo. – Sherri Reeves, Janet (Clark) Moody and the 2009 Northwest Missouri State football team have been elected as members of the 2013 MIAA Hall of Fame class announced Thursday by the league office.

Sherri Reeves was the first women’s basketball coach at Northwest in 1971 and compiled a 61-15 record in four seasons winning the 1971-72 MAIAW Championship. She helped jump start the women’s cross country program in 1973 as the women’s athletic director and by the time Title IX mandated sport sponsorship for female students in 1973, Northwest was already sponsoring women’s programs of basketball, tennis, volleyball, track and field, cross country, softball and gymnastics. Reeves was also inducted into the M-Club Hall of Fame at Northwest in 2005.

Janet (Clark) Moody is the only Northwest Missouri State women’s basketball player to be in the 2,000 point club and ranks fourth on the MIAA all-time scoring list. She averaged over 20 points per game in her final three seasons en route to being named First-Team All-MIAA in 1987, 1988 and 1989. Moody is also a member of the 500 rebound club and is the all-time leader in points and three-point percentage at Northwest as she was placed in the M-Club Hall of Fame in 1996.

The 2009 Northwest Missouri State football team was one of the most prolific offensive teams in NCAA Division II history en route to claiming the 2009 National Championship – the third in Northwest history. The Bearcats finished the season 14-1 and a perfect 9-0 in the MIAA claiming the program’s 22nd league championship.

After falling in the season opener the Bearcats won 14 straight games to claim the title including knocking off Abilene Christian in a re-match of the season opener to avenge their only loss of the season. The offensive numbers continued to pile up for Northwest scoring 632 points on the season, a then-school record.

The 2009 Bearcat senior class never lost an MIAA contest going 36-0 during their careers as four player earned All-America honor with 10 All-Region players including NCAA-II Receiver of the Year Jake Soy. Head Coach Mel Tjeerdsma was also named AFCA Coach of the Year as it also gave the program five consecutive championship game appearances, one of two schools at any level to accomplish the feat.

This year’s Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be held June 6, 2013 at the Kansas City Public Library – Plaza Branch, 4801 Main Street in Kansas City, Mo. The event will be held in the Truman Forum Auditorium. Tickets for the event are available by visiting and filling out the form. Tickets will be given out on a first come, first serve basis.

A complete list of the 2013 MIAA Hall of Fame class can be seen here.

For more information, please contact:

Media Relations Department, Northwest Athletics | 660.562.1118 | Fax: 660.562.1582

Northwest Athletics
Lamkin Activity Center | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468