This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Bearcats

Press Release


Jan. 18, 2013

Williams headlines Don Hansen All-America Team

MARYVILLE, Mo. – Senior offensive lineman Rod Williams headlined a group of five Northwest Missouri State football players that were named to the Don Hansen All-America Team announced Friday.

Williams earned second team honors, as sophomore punter Kyle Goodburn was named to the third team. Three players also earned honorable mention acclaim with Collin DeBuysere, Travis Chappelear and Nate DeJong rounding out the Bearcats honored by Don Hansen Football Gazette.

With the award, Williams finishes his career at Northwest as a two-time All-America on the offensive line. The Kansas City native helped the Bearcats’ offense average 41 points per game in 2012 and over 50 points per game in 2011 to lead the nation.

Goodburn was one of the top punters in the nation finishing fourth at 44.2 yards per punt. The sophomore also led the MIAA in yards per punt and recorded 18 punts inside the 20-yard line.

DeJong and DeBuysere combined for 12 interceptions on the year as Northwest led NCAA Division II with 28. DeJong led the team with seven picks while DeBuysere was the second leading tackler with 74 and added a team-high nine tackles for a loss.

Chappelear was the third leading tackler for the Bearcats adding 8.0 tackles for a loss to one of the nation’s top defensive units. Northwest allowed 13 points per game the third best mark in NCAA Division II football during the 2012 season.

The Don Hansen Division II All-America Team carries out the legacy of longtime small college football advocate Don Hansen, who passed away at age 75 on Aug. 29, 2010. Hansen, from Brookfield, Ill., started and published Don Hansen’s National Weekly Football Gazette for three decades, selecting NCAA Division II All-America teams for the first time in 1988.

The Don Hansen Football Committee selected All-Super Region teams in December and early January, with the first-team and second-team All-Super Region players advancing to the national ballot.

A total of 175 players earned some form of Don Hansen All-America honors. Players from 83 of the 157 football-playing schools in Division II earned Don Hansen All-America accolades. National Champion Valdosta State and national semifinalist West Texas A&M led the way by placing eight players apiece on the All-America squad.

For more information, please contact:

Media Relations Department, Northwest Athletics | 660.562.1118 | Fax: 660.562.1582

Northwest Athletics
Lamkin Activity Center | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468