This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Bearcats

Press Release


Nov. 13, 2012

17 Bearcats earn All-MIAA honors

MARYVILLE, Mo. – Six Northwest Missouri State football players earned First-Team All-MIAA honors to highlight Tuesday’s announcement by the league office.

The Bearcats placed six on the first-team, four on the second-team and seven players earned honorable mention accolades giving Northwest 17 total players earning honors. League Champion Missouri Western had 16 earn All-MIAA accolades, the second most.

Offensive lineman Rod Williams and kicker Todd Adolf earned a nod on the first-team offense, while Travis Chappelear, Collin DeBuysere, Nate DeJong and Kyle Goodburn represented the Bearcats on the defense. The Northwest defense led the MIAA allowing only 12 points per game as DeJong was second in the league in interceptions. Kyle Goodburn and Todd Adolf were important keys to the special teams play as both ranked first and second in the league respectively.

On the second-team, Tyler Shaw earned honors at wide receiver as Jordan Simmons was named kick returner/punt returner for the third consecutive season. Simmons earned first-team honors as a sophomore.

A pair of Bearcats earned second-team defensive accolades led by D.J. Gnader and Brandon Dixon. Gnader leads Northwest in tackles as Dixon is second with four interceptions.

Simmons was also named honorable mention running back as Trevor Adams, Vincent Defeo and John Petroff join him on the offensive side of the ball. Defensive backs Clarke Snodgrass and Travis Manning joined Matt Longacre as the three Bearcats earning defensive honorable mention honors.


MIAA Offensive Player of the Year – Michael Hill, RB, Missouri Western
MIAA Defensive Player of the Year – Brandon Williams, DL, Missouri Southern
MIAA Special Teams Player of the Year – John Brown, KR/PR, Pittsburg State
MIAA Freshman of the Year – Michael Jordan, DB, Missouri Western
MIAA Coach of the Year – Jerry Partridge, Missouri Western

First Team (Offense)
QB – Travis Partridge, Missouri Western
RB – Michael Hill, Missouri Western
RB – Joshua Birmingham, Central Oklahoma
WR – Shjuan Richardson, Emporia State
WR – John Brown, Pittsburg State
TE/FB – Adam Shiltz, Emporia State
OL – Steve Dieckhaus, Washburn
OL – Cody Holland, Pittsburg State
OL – Macon Allan, Missouri Western
OL – Rod Williams, Northwest Missouri
OL – Logan Freeman, Central Missouri
K – Todd Adolf, Northwest Missouri
KR/PR – John Brown, Pittsburg State


First Team (Defense)
DL – David Bass, Missouri Western
DL – Ben Pister, Missouri Western
DL – Brandon Williams, Missouri Southern ^
DL – Travis Chappelear, Northwest Missouri
LB – Ben Carlson, Emporia State
LB – Nate Dreiling, Pittsburg State
LB – Collin DeBuysere, Northwest Missouri
DB – O’Hara Fluellen, Lincoln
DB – Richie Schumaker, Truman
DB – Pierre Desir, Lindenwood
DB – Nate DeJong, Northwest Missouri
P – Kyle Goodburn, Northwest Missouri
^= Unanimous Selection

Second Team (Offense)
QB – Tyler Eckenrode, Emporia State
RB – Joel Rockmore, Northeastern State
RB –  Denodus O’Bryant, Lindenwood
WR – Dallas Grier, Truman
WR – Tyler Shaw, Northwest Missouri
TE/FB – Tore’ Hurst, Washburn
OL – John Rouse, Fort Hays State
OL – Lance Uhles, Emporia State
OL – Colt Schulte, Missouri Western
OL – Michael Bowie, Northeastern State
OL – Cole Manhart, Nebraska-Kearney
K – Taylor Anderson, Missouri Western
KR/PR – Jordan Simmons, Northwest Missouri

Second Team (Defense)
DL – Patrick Blackwell, Truman
DL – Herbert Byrd, Central Oklahoma
DL – Gus Toca, Pittsburg State
DL – David Bax, Central Missouri
DL – LaTavious Davis, Central Missouri
LB – Langston Jones, Northeastern State
LB – Jameson Manuma, Southwest Baptist
LB – D.J. Gnader, Northwest Missouri
DB – Chris Poston, Emporia State
DB – Shane Simpson, Missouri Western
DB – Sam Kuck, Nebraska-Kearney
DB – Brandon Dixon, Northwest Missouri
P – Matt Jordan, Central Missouri
P – Eric Phillips, Truman  
Five defensive lineman and two punters due to tie in the voting


Honorable Mention
Central Missouri – Colter Smith, Quarterback; Ronrei Lloyd, Wide Receiver; LaVance Taylor, Running Back; David Cannon, Tight End; Mark Schroeder; Joe Carter, Linebacker; Patrick Lewis, Defensive Back.
Central Oklahoma – Adrian Nelson, Quarterback; Christian Hood, Wide Receiver; Cameron Pound, Offensive Line; Tyler Newton, Defensive Line; Sam Moses, Defensive Line; Adrian Shoecraft, Linebacker.
Fort Hays State – Cornelius Gallon, Wide Receiver; Grant Brown, Tight End; Josh Reese, Offensive Line; Layton Hickel, Linebacker; Michael Jordan, Defensive Back, Keke Paul, Defensive Back.
Emporia State – Ray Ray Davis, Wide Receiver; Dakota Hagler, Defensive Line; Jeff Richards, Linebacker; Jordan Sanders, Linebacker; Kevin Gaddis, Defensive Back; Derek Lohmann, Defensive Back.
Lincoln – Morris Henderson, Running Back; Maurice Woodard, Wide Receiver; Jerry Johnson, Offensive Line; Cecil Frison, Defensive Line; Daryl Blackmon, Defensive Line; Johnny Beautelus, Linebacker; Markuice Savage, Defensive Back; O’Hara Fluellen, Kick/Punt Returner.
Lindenwood – Andrew Helmick, Wide Receiver; Latham Johnson, Offensive Line; Matt Andreolli, Offensive Line; Malach Radigan, Defensive Line; Connor Harris, Linebacker; Cody Fogle, Defensive Back.
Missouri Southern – Kellen Cox, Quarterback; Landon Zerkel, Wide Receiver; Ne’Ronte Threatt, Running Back; Ryon Phillips, Defensive Line; Alex Wong, Linebacker; Devon Dace, Defensive Back.
Missouri Western – Kyle Knox, Wide Receiver; Tyron Crockum, Wide Receiver; Reggie Jordan, Tight End; Brian Chiles, Offensive Line; Michael Yardley, Offensive Line; Stephen Juergens, Linebacker; Ben Jackson, Defensive Back; Michael Jordan, Defensive Back.
Nebraska-Kearney – Matt Berry, Quarterback; Tommy Flanagan, Wide Receiver; Ricky Trinidad, Running Back; Pete Trausch, Offensive Line; Justin Thiel, Defensive Line; Dex Schwieger, Defensive Line.
Northeastern State – Johnny Deaton, Quarterback; Jermaine Sherman, Wide Receiver; Ethan James, Offensive Line; Victor Johnson, Defensive Back; Vernon Jones, Defensive Back; Drew Patton, Kicker.
Northwest Missouri – Trevor Adams, Quarterback; Jordan Simmons, Running Back; Vincent Defeo, Tight End; John Petroff, Offensive Line; Matt Longacre, Defensive Line; Travis Manning, Defensive Back; Clarke Snodgrass, Defensive Back.
Pittsburg State – Anthony Abenoja, Quarterback; Andrew Castaneda, Wide Receiver; Aaron Kolich, Offensive Line; Joe Uzzel, Defensive Line; Keeston Terry, Defensive Back; Jason Peete, Defensive Back.
Southwest Baptist – Derwyn Lauderdale, Wide Receiver; Caleb Butler, Offensive Line; Josh Caver, Defensive Line; Shaquille Shedd, Linebacker; Chris Muhammad, Defensive Back-Kick/Punt Returner; Evan Ray, Defensive Back.
Truman – Blake Holland, Offensive Line; Jeramey Dockery, Defensive Line; Michael Elliot, Defensive Back; Tremaine Millender, Defensive Back; Robert Gayden, Defensive Back; Derek Koon, Kicker.  
Washburn – Kyle Duncan, Offensive Line; Corey Walker, Defensive Line; Jayveri Kelly, Defensive Line; Bryce Atagi, Linebacker; Jahmil Taylor, Linebacker; Devon Connors, Linebacker; Willie Williams, Defensive Back; Aaron Hummert, Punter.

For more information, please contact:

Media Relations Department, Northwest Athletics | 660.562.1118 | Fax: 660.562.1582

Northwest Athletics
Lamkin Activity Center | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468