This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Bearcats

Press Release


Jan. 19, 2012

Kilgore and Johnson headline Don Hansen All-America Team

Complete All-America Team

PITTSBURG, Kan. – Seniors Chad Kilgore and Cody Johnson earned their second All-America honors of Thursday being named to the First-Team 2011 Don Hansen All-America Team as announced by the organization.

Northwest Missouri State placed three players on the first- and third-teams while three more players earned Honorable Mention accolades for the Bearcats.

Kilgore was named All-America by every publication that recognizes NCAA Division II football this off-season. The senior led the Bearcats in tackles for the third consecutive season and spearheaded a Northwest defense that returned just two starters and played a key role in propelling the Bearcats to the quarterfinals for the eighth straight season – the longest current streak in NCAA DII.

Johnson earned his third All-America honor after being named second-team by two other organizations. The senior from Jasper, Mo., helped anchor an offensive line that led the nation in scoring and averaged over 50 points per game during the regular season. The offense was also just 22 yards shy of posting two 1,000 yard rushers in the same season.

Joining his brother on the Don Hansen All-America Team was Kyle Kilgore. Kilgore also finished his senior season as a Bearcat earning third-team accolades at tight end, his first All-America honor. The Orrick, Mo., native finished with a career high eight touchdown catches and averaged 18.3 yards per catch helping propel an offense that averaged an NCAA Division II best at more than 50 points per game during the regular season.

Three Bearcats were named Honorable Mention led by senior defensive lineman Josh Lorenson and joined by junior Jordan Simmons and sophomore James Franklin.

The Don Hansen Division II All-America Team carries out the legacy of long-time small college football advocate Don Hansen, who passed away at age 75 on Aug. 29, 2010. Hansen, from Brookfield, Ill., started and published Don Hansen’s National Weekly Football Gazette for three decades, selecting NCAA Division II All-America teams for the first time in 1988.

The Don Hansen Football Committee selected All-Super Region teams in December and early January, with the first-team and second-team All-Super Region players advancing to the national ballot.

A total of 183 players earned some form of Don Hansen All-America honors. Players from 84 of the 152 football-playing schools in Division II earned Don Hansen All-America accolades. National Champion Pitt State led the way by placing eight players on the All-America squad, while national runner-up Wayne (Mich.) State, national semifinalist Delta State and national quarterfinalist New Haven (Conn.) garnered seven individuals apiece.

For more information, please contact:

Media Relations Department, Northwest Athletics | 660.562.1118 | Fax: 660.562.1582

Northwest Athletics
Lamkin Activity Center | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468