This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Bearcats

Press Release


Aug. 24, 2011

Northwest announces Fall Classic All-Decade Team

MARYVILLE, Mo. - Northwest Missouri State University's Department of Athletics has tallied the final numbers and is pleased to announce the 10 players who fans voted for as a part of this year's Fall Classic X.

Fans were given the chance to vote for their favorite players from the previous nine meetings between Northwest and Pittsburg State. Voting ended Aug. 20, and each program's All-Decade Team will be recognized during the Fall Classic along with other individuals who have been instrumental in the success of the annual contest.

The All-Decade Team for Northwest includes: running back Xavier Omon (2004-07), defensive back Myles Burnsides (2006-09), wide receiver Jake Soy (2009-10), running back LaRon Council (2007-09), wide receiver Jamaica Rector (2003-04), quarterback Josh Lamberson (2003-05), defensive lineman Dave Tollefson (2004-05), tight end Mike Peterson (2005-07), linebacker Jared Erspamer (2004-07), and wide receiver Kendall Wright (2006-08).

Northwest carries a 7-2 record into the 2011 meeting and is the winner of five straight at Arrowhead. The Bearcats held off a late rally from the Gorillas in last year's meeting to claim a- 22-16- win.

Fall Classic X at Arrowhead Stadium is Oct. 1. Kickoff is set for 2 p.m. The game will be televised on the MIAA Broadcasting Network as well as the Bearcat Radio Network.

All-Decade Team Notes:

The top vote getter for the Bearcats was current San Francisco 49er, Xavier Omon ... WR Jake Soy is the only current Bearcat to be voted to the All-Decade Team ... Rector was the only member to play in the inaugural Fall Classic in 2002 ... Rector also holds the third highest total for receiving yards in the series, behind All-Decade Team member Kendall Wright, and Rector's younger brother, Andre Rector ... Maryville native and hometown favorite Myles Burnsides is the only four-year member on the All-Decade Team.

Click here to view Pittsburg State All-Decade Team.

For more information, please contact:

Media Relations Department, Northwest Athletics | 660.562.1118 | Fax: 660.562.1582

Northwest Athletics
Lamkin Activity Center | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468