This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Bearcats

Press Release


Burnsides is the MIAA's first male recipient.

Sept. 21, 2010

Burnsides is National Scholar-Athlete of the Year


Myles Burnsides

Burnsides is National Scholar-Athlete of the Year

MARYVILLE, Mo.-Myles Burnsides '09 is the National Scholar-Athlete of the Year as selected by the NCAA Division II Conference Commissioners Association. Burnsides is Northwest's first-ever recipient of the award and first Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association (MIAA) male winner since the award's inception in 1999-2000. Three female MIAA student-athletes have taken top honors.

"Myles is very deserving of this honor and I'm not at all surprised that he was selected," said Northwest head football coach Mel Tjeerdsma. "When you look at what he's done as an athlete, as a student and as an ambassador for Northwest Missouri State University, it's pretty amazing. Now he's making a tremendous contribution as a student-coach. I'm very happy for him and his family."

Burnsides graduated with a 3.90 grade-point average and carries a 3.86 average while working to obtain his master's degree in business administration. He is a three-time, first-team All-MIAA choice, a two-time All-American and is the first player in program history to be named National Defensive Player of the Year.

Burnsides finished with 294 career tackles, the most by a defensive back and eighth-most in program history. His 16 interceptions are the third-most in program history. Burnsides played in 59 collegiate games, started in four national championship contests and went 37-0 against MIAA opponents.

Jessica Pixler of Seattle Pacific University was named the top women's student-athlete. Pixler won four NCAA titles last year alone and 12 titles during her career. She's the first-ever female to win the cross country individual title three straight years at any NCAA Division.

The selection of Pixler and Burnsides caps a selection process guided by the Association. Last month, 16 regional scholar-athlete award winners were named. Pixler and Burnsides were selected from a field of eight men's regional winners and eight women's regional winners.

"We are all very proud of the quality of student-athletes that Division II institutions produce annually," said Butch Raymond, commissioner of the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference and president of the Division II Commissioners Association. "The balance of academics and athletics is the hallmark of Division II and all our award winners exemplify the best of both worlds."


Female Winner


Male Winner



Jessica Pixler

Seattle Pacific

Myles Burnsides

Northwest Missouri State


Anna Atkinson


Jake Visser

Ferris State


Anna Atkinson


Michael Eubanks

Delta State


Jamie Wolf


Mike Klobucher

Ferris State


Kristin Anderson

Central Missouri

Ryan Koch

St. Cloud State


Heather Hamilton


Aaron Graumann



Kate Hamera


Nick Brantin



Alice Duesing

Lake Superior State

Matt Spector



Jill Theeler

North Dakota State

Douglas Hargett

North Alabama


Emily Bloss

Emporia State

Douglas Hargett

North Alabama


Rachel Price

North Alabama

Corte McGuffey

Northern Colorado



For more information, please contact:

Media Relations Department, Northwest Athletics | 660.562.1118 | Fax: 660.562.1582

Northwest Athletics
Lamkin Activity Center | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468