This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Bearcats

Press Release

Jan. 8, 2010

Ten Earn All-Region Honors From Don Hansen

MARYVILLE, Mo.-Don Hansen's Football Gazette released its 2009 NCAA Division II All-Region Teams Friday and the national champion Northwest Missouri State Bearcats led Super Region 4 with 10 selections, including four first-team picks and five second-team choices who advance and will be placed on the national ballot.

Senior running back LaRon Council and senior safety Myles Burnsides were repeat first-team choices from 2008 and Burnsides also earned all-region honors in 2007. Sophomore wide receiver Jake Soy and junior offensive lineman Brett Grozinger were the other two first-team selections. All four players have been named 2009 All-Americans by at least one publication.

Bearcats earning second-team honors include junior quarterback Blake Bolles, junior offensive tackle Jason Wiseman, senior defensive tackle Tyler Roach, sophomore linebacker Chad Kilgore and junior cornerback Ryan Jones. Senior defensive tackle Shayne Shade was a third-team choice.

This marks the fourth year in a row that at least 10 Northwest players have appeared on Don Hansen's all-region teams. The Bearcats finished 14-1 this past season, including a 30-23 victory against Grand Valley State to win the program's third national title in 12 seasons. Northwest also won its fourth straight MIAA championship and 11th in 16 seasons under head coach Mel Tjeerdsma.

For more information, please contact:

Media Relations Department, Northwest Athletics | 660.562.1118 | Fax: 660.562.1582

Northwest Athletics
Lamkin Activity Center | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468