This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Bearcats

Press Release

June 1, 2009

Osborn Named a Finalist for Ken B. Jones Award

MARYVILLE, Mo.-Northwest Missouri State senior quarterback Joel Osborn is one of three finalists for the MIAA's Ken B. Jones Award, given annually to the league's Male and Female Student-Athletes of the Year.

Osborn will be invited to the MIAA Awards Banquet, scheduled for June 11 in Kansas City, Kan., at the Hilton Garden Inn Hotel, where the winners will be announced.

Pittsburg State senior running back Caleb Farabi and Missouri Western senior punter Dustin Strickler are the other two finalists on the men's side.

Osborn is Northwest's third finalist for the award in the last five years. National champion shot-putter Clint Prange won the award in 2005. All-American quarterback Josh Lamberson was the 2006 recipient. Tucker Woolsey, an All-American shot-putter in his own right, became the Bearcats' first Ken B. Jones Award winner in 2002.

Osborn became the second Northwest quarterback to be named the MIAA's Most Valuable Offensive Player after leading the Bearcats to their third straight 9-0 record in conference play and the team's fourth national championship game appearance.

Osborn became the sixth quarterback in Northwest history to pass for 3,000 yards in a season (he led the MIAA with 3,249 yards). He threw a touchdown in 14 of 15 games and tossed 24 scores on the season.

With a 67 percent completion percentage, Osborn is the program's most accurate passer. He threw 190 consecutive passes without throwing an interception spanning nine games this season.

This marks the 16th year for the award. It is named in honor of the man who served as the MIAA's first full-time commissioner for 16 years, before retiring in 1997. He passed away in May 2004.

A 12-member panel of athletics directors, senior women's administrators, faculty athletics representatives and sports information directors representing each school and the conference office selects the winners.

Judging is done in four areas for each nominee, 2008-09 Athletic Accomplishments, 2008-09 Academic Accomplishments, 2008-09 Campus/Community Service and Career Athletic, Academic and Service Achievements.

To be nominated, a student-athlete must have a 3.00 cumulative grade-point average as of April 1, and complete at least their junior season of eligibility in the 2008-09 season.

Southwest Baptist football student-athlete Nick Smart and Emporia State basketball student-athlete Michelle Stueve won the 2007-08 awards.

For more information, please contact:

Media Relations Department, Northwest Athletics | 660.562.1118 | Fax: 660.562.1582

Northwest Athletics
Lamkin Activity Center | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468