This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Bearcats

Press Release

Dec. 27, 2006

Tjeerdsma Announced as 2006 Schutt Sports Coach of the Year

NORTH PALM BEACH, Fla. -- Northwest Missouri State head football coach Mel Tjeerdsma was named the 2006 Division II Schutt Sports Coach of the Year, announced by American Football Monthly on Dec. 21. One of the nation's leading equipment manufacturers, Schutt Sports has honored the top college and high school coaches of the year since 1997. Now in its tenth year, the Schutt Sports awards symbolize the essence of what makes a coach successful, both on and off the field.

A 2006 Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association (MIAA) Coach of the Year, his eighth in his 13-year tenure at Northwest, Tjeerdsma led his Bearcats to their fourth national championship appearance since 1998 and a 14-1 overall record. Tjeerdsma is the winningest active Division II playoff coach with 19 postseason wins after a 33-3 victory over Bloomsburg (Pa.) in the NCAA Semifinals on Dec. 10.

He stands with a 132-36 (.786) record in 13 seasons at Northwest and was earlier recognized this season with the 2006 American Football Coaches' Association (AFCA) Region 3 Coach of the Year.

Other winners from the college ranks include Greg Schiano (Division I-A) from Rutgers, Jerry Moore (Division I-AA) from Appalachian State, Mike Drass (Division III) from Wesley, Mike Feminis (NAIA) from St. Xavier and Brad Franchione (Junior College) from Blinn College.

For more information, please contact:

Media Relations Department, Northwest Athletics | 660.562.1118 | Fax: 660.562.1582

Northwest Athletics
Lamkin Activity Center | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468