This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Bearcats

Press Release

Feb. 19, 2006

2005 Northwest Football Team Awards Announced

MARYVILLE, Mo. -- The 2005 Northwest Missouri State University football team awards were handed out this afternoon at Bearcat Arena as part of a ceremony honoring the NCAA Division II National Runner-up program. A total of nine team awards were announced during the event as nearly 500 parents, friends and supporters of Northwest athletics were in attendance.

The "Cory Stanton Walk-on of the Year" was handed out in remembrance of Bearcat Cory Stanton, who was killed in an automobile accident in December of 2004. Long snapper and defensive end Cody Lanus (Liberty, Mo.) was recognized with the award. Lanus appeared in 11 games primarily as the team's long snapper on punts and PAT's.

The "Kermie Schneider Freshman of the Year" went to placekicker Tommy Frevert (Lee's Summit, Mo.). Frevert ended the season seventh on the school season charts with 11 field goals including a personal-long 42 yarder against Missouri Western (Sept. 17). Ranked 54th in the NCAA in field goals per game (0.7), Frevert's 53 PAT's was sixth on the single-season list. Frevert finished second in the MIAA in kick scoring (5.7) and second with 0.73 field goals per game.

The "Phil Voge Red-Shirt Freshman of the Year" was awarded to wide receiver/kick returner Kendall Wright (Sulphur Springs, Tex.). Ranked 28th in the NCAA with a 12.8 punt return average, Wright was second on the club with a 13.3 per catch average at receiver. He totaled five catches for a career-best 79 yards against Missouri Western (Sept. 17). His 269 punt returns yards stands ninth-best on the single-season charts.

The "Offensive Scout Team Player of the Year" went to running back LaRon Council (Kansas City, Mo.) and offensive lineman Ross Hastert (Harlan, Iowa).

The "Defensive Scout Team Player of the Year" was given to strong safety Myles Burnsides (Maryville, Mo.) and linebacker Evan Wilmes (Maryville, Mo.).

The "Most Valuable Special Teams Player" went to junior defensive back Diezeas Calbert (Omaha, Neb.). Calbert was first among all defensive backs and tied for fourth on the team with 68 total tackles. He posted his first career interception, returning it 13 yards at North Alabama (Dec. 3) and also went for a season-best eight tackles twice including the Pittsburg State game (Oct. 29). He blocked a kick against Truman State (Sept. 10).

The "Most Valuable Offensive Player" was handed to senior quarterback Josh Lamberson (Wilber, Neb.). For his work in the classroom and graduating in December with a 4.0 GPA, Lamberson earned ESPN The Magazine Academic All-American of the Year in the College Division. A two-time ESPN The Magazine Academic All-American, Lamberson was a Second Team All-MIAA selection and a semifinalist for the Draddy Trophy (Division II Academic "Heisman".) He ranked 18th in the nation in passing efficiency (150.5) and 30th in total offense (249.9) and was the top passer in the MIAA in yards per game (251.1). He set single-season school records in passing yards (3,766) and completions (324) and his 33-of-49 effort for 326 yards in the National Championship set a game-record for completions, which also tied a school record. On the national level, he tied the NCAA record for 12 games in a season of over 200 yards passing. On the league career charts, he finished fourth (all games) in passing yards (8,064) and sixth in total offense (8,064). He ended first in Northwest career annals (all games) with a 65.8 completion percentage, completions and total offense and fell just one touchdown shy of the career mark of 66 and his 7,365 yards were 81 shy of the all-time record. Lamberson is currently a graduate assistant coach and will help mentor the quarterbacks.

The "Most Valuable Defensive Player" went to senior defensive end Dave Tollefson (Concord, Calif.). Tollefson was included on some form of postseason team seven times including First Team AFCA All-America and was the MIAA Defensive Player of the Year. He set the school's single-season sacks record with 12.5 and ended sixth with 16.5 TFL's. On the national scale, he ranked 13th in the country with 0.9 sacks per game and 68th with 1.2 TFL's per contest. He finished his career with 21.0 career sacks, 0.5 away from the school record and his 29.5 career TFL's ranks eighth on the school list. He came up .5 sacks shy of the single-game school record with 4.0 against Missouri Western (Sept. 17). The 2005 Gene Upshaw Lineman of the Year finalist (given to Division II's top defensive or offensive lineman) posted six tackles in the Hula Bowl in January - a senior all-star game dominated by Division I athletes.

The "Spirit of the Bearcat Award" was given to senior offensive linemen Eric Hoyt (Brookfield, Mo.) and Jordan Wilcox (Springfield, Neb.). Hoyt was the starter at right guard the first 13 games before he injured his elbow and sat out the final two playoff games. An Honorable Mention All-MIAA pick on offense, Hoyt earned status on the MIAA Commissioner's Academic Honor Roll. Wilcox was also honored on the Honorable Mention All-MIAA team on offense as he started all 15 games at center. He was selected to the MIAA Commissioner's Academic Honor Roll. Both athletes were part of an offense to rank 23rd in the country in passing offense (260.1) and rank 47th in points per game (29.3).

The No. 2 Bearcats ended their season at 11-4 and will begin their 2006 spring practice on Thursday, March 9.

For more information, please contact:

Media Relations Department, Northwest Athletics | 660.562.1118 | Fax: 660.562.1582

Northwest Athletics
Lamkin Activity Center | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468