This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Bearcats

Press Release

July 25, 2005

Eric Goudge Receives NCAA Division II Degree-Completion Award Program

Courtesy of Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. -- A total of 10 student-athletes from the MIAA were selected to be part of the NCAA Division II Degree-Completion Award Program for 2005-06, it was announced Wednesday (July 20).

The Division II Degree-Completion Award Program was founded in 2001, with 32 awards distributed in the 2001-02 school year. The program provides financial assistance to deserving student-athletes for the completion of their first baccalaureate degree.

To receive the award, students must have completed their athletics eligibility and received financial aid for athletics. Recipients must have solid academic credentials. The committee also considers financial circumstances, athletics achievement and involvement in campus and community activities when making its funding decisions.

The funding must be used to complete undergraduate degree requirements at the Division II institution where the applicant last competed. An institution is limited to nominating a maximum of three student-athletes for the Division II Degree-Completion Award.

Emporia State led the way with three winners -- Alicia Burns (women's track & field), Kayla Hubbard (softball) and Nicole Patry (women's basketball).

Truman and Missouri Western each had two winners. The Bulldogs are represented by Anna Sonderman (women's soccer) and Jessica Sears (volleyball), while the Griffons had Ariel Bonderer (women's basketball) and Roosevelt Bolden (men's basketball) selected.

The other three winners from MIAA schools played football -- Eric Goudge from Northwest Missouri State, Nathan Baker from Pittsburg State and Evin Beck of Washburn.

The MIAA was one of three leagues to have at least 10 honorees, joining the Lone Star Conference (12) and Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (11).

NCAA Division II Degree-Completion Award
2004-05 Winners

Name                    SchoolKristin Alvarado        Abilene Christian (Texas) Ashley Potter           Alabama-HuntsvilleKristian Kleminsky      Alabama-HuntsvilleAaron Graumann          Augustana (S.D.)Thomas Meester          Augustana (S.D.)Danielle Yeager         Bloomsburg (Pa.)Michelle Albanese       Bloomsburg (Pa.) Lindsay Peloza          California State-Dominguez HillsMerylie Giguere         California State-BakersfieldChanda Parker           Carson-Newman (Tenn.)Anthony Lampkin         Central ArkansasMilica Radovic          Central ArkansasKim Kilmer              Colorado MinesKimberly Chipps         Concord (W.Va.)Frank Bennett, II       Drury (Mo.)Amanda Kalmus           East Central (Okla.)  Alicia Burns            Emporia State   Kayla Hubbard           Emporia State   Nicole Patry            Emporia State   Tyreece Brown           Fayetteville (N.C.) State Carlton Epps            Ferris (Mich.) State Navreet Gill            Ferris (Mich.) State Blaire Toleman          Florida Gulf Coast Kelly Powe              Florida Gulf Coast Marques Woods           Fort Hays (Kan.) State Oscar Rodriguez         Fort Hays (Kan.) State Sarah Griffith          Fort Lewis (Colo.)Nicole Fell             Francis Marion (S.C.)Rebecca Hindes          Gannon (Pa.)Nicole Schierer         Georgian Court (N.J.)Jeanna Falduto          Grand Valley (Mich.) State Melissa Sneller         Grand Valley (Mich.) State Blake Christenson       Henderson (Ark.) State Jacob Pool              Henderson (Ark.) State Liza Froncek            Holy Family (Pa.) Emily McMahan           Indiana (Pa.)Erin Livingston         Kutztown (Pa.)Keisha Powell           Limestone (S.C.) Renae Carter            Lincoln Memorial (Tenn.) Lilian Bortoto          Lock Haven (Pa.)Kristin Frantz          Lock Haven (Pa.) Kari Sandstrom          Minnesota State-MankatoMelanie Jude            Minnesota State-MankatoSusan Kolbow            Minnesota State-MoorheadSonya Hauan             Missouri-St. Louis  Ariel Bonderer          Missouri Western   Roosevelt Bolden        Missouri Western   Robyn Milne             Montana State-BillingsTabitha Panter          Montevallo (Ala.)Chelsie Groslie         Nebraska-OmahaAaron Sanchez           New Mexico Highlands Jennifer Mihulka        North DakotaJa'Marcus Snipes        North AlabamaRikole Hall             Northeastern (Okla.) State Amber Timmons           Northern Kentucky Kelli McCune            Northern Michigan Larisa Graham           Northern Michigan   Eric Goudge             Northwest Missouri State   Arin Freeman            Paine (Ga.)Jessica Parker          Paine (Ga.)Alexis Grafton          Philadelphia (Pa.)  Nathan Baker            Pittsburg State   Melissa Patterson       Pittsburgh-Johnstown (Pa.)Lindsay Anderson        Quincy (Ill.)Nikki Schwarz           Saginaw Valley (Mich.) State Kalia Quarles           Shaw (N.C.)Fernando Blanco         South Carolina-AikenMindy Foster            Southeastern Oklahoma State Ericka Nieman           Southwest Minnesota State Jason Mai               Southwest Minnesota State Paige Adams             Southwestern Oklahoma State Shelly Wilson           St. Mary's (Texas) Natalie Walther         Texas A&M-KingsvilleJennifer Bolli          Texas Woman's Erin MacNabb            Texas Woman's Melanie Pabalate        Texas Woman's   Anna Sonderman          Truman   Jessica Sears           Truman   Julie Maples            Tusculum (Tenn.)Tomyriam Crutches       Tuskegee (Ala.)Sarah Cargill           Valdosta (Ga.) State Christina Taylor        Virginia Union   Evin Beck               Washburn   David Lutz              Wayne (Mich.) StateJonathan Herstein       Wayne (Mich.) StateToni Purgatori          Wayne (Mich.) StateAdam Shaw               West Texas A&M Suni Petty              West Texas A&M Tayla Dunn              West Texas A&M Stephanie Alens         Winona (Minn.) State Brook Strickland        Wisconsin-Parkside

For more information, please contact:

Media Relations Department, Northwest Athletics | 660.562.1118 | Fax: 660.562.1582

Northwest Athletics
Lamkin Activity Center | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468