This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Bearcats

Press Release

November 3, 2004

Jamaica Rector Makes First Cut on Harlon Hill Race

FLORENCE, Ala. -- Senior wide receiver/kick returner Jamaica Rector (Celeste, Tex.) is one of 26 student-athletes in the running for the 2004 Harlon Hill Trophy, announced by the National Harlon Hill Award Committee Voting Coordinator Dee Corum today. The Harlon Hill is awarded to the NCAA Division II College Football Player of the Year. The list includes six players each from the Southeast and Northeast regions and seven from the Northeast and Southwest regions - Rector is listed in the Southwest region.

Rector was one of the 24 initial candidates in 2003 - six players from each of the four regions. Of the six 2003 candidates from the Central Region (the old region for Northwest), Rector is the only returner from that list - the other five have graduated.

Players are nominated and voted on by the sports information directors at the 150 NCAA Division II football-playing institutions. The 26 initial candidates will be placed on regional ballots and the top two players from each of the four NCAA regions will advance to the national ballot when regional voting concludes on November 15. The winner of the 2004 award, which is presented by the National Harlon Hill Award Committee, will be announced at the 19th annual Harlon Hill Trophy Presentation Banquet on Friday, December 10 at the Florence Conference Center at 6:30 p.m. Tickets can be purchased by calling (256) 764-4661.

The NCAA Division II Championship Game is scheduled for December 11 at Florence's Braly Municipal Stadium at 3 p.m. The Hill Trophy is sponsored by Coca-Cola, the City of Florence, Ala., and Trustmark Construction. There were 40 candidates initially nominated by the sports information directors at their respective schools and those nominations were then reviewed by the Hill Regional Advisory Committees, which trimmed the list of candidates North Alabama quarterback Will Hall was the latest Harlon Hill winner in 2003.

Rector, a two-time All-America selection has already been honored in 2004 on the Don Hansen's Football Gazette Preseason All-America Team and the 2nd Team All-America offensive squad. The Celeste, Tex. native became the MIAA's all-time leading receiver in yards (regular
season) against Emporia State (Oct. 2) with 3,922 and most recently against Missouri Southern (Oct. 9), he set the MIAA all games tab with 4,188 receiving yards. Also, he stands No. 6 on the NCAA lifetime charts in receiving yards and receptions (266). On the school list, he currently is first in
career punt return yardage (1,354), third in career points (256) and needs one more receiving TD (all games) to tie the school and MIAA mark of 37 career TD's done by Tony Miles.

Currently, Rector is recognized nationally as he ranks in six statistical categories: third in all-purpose yardage (181.2), fourth in punt return yardage (18.8), 10th in receptions per game (7.1), 15th in receiving yards per game (99.1), 19th in kickoff returns (25.5) and 28th in scoring (8.7). He has four
games of 100 or more receiving yards and four contests of 200+ all-purpose yards including 277 yards vs. Missouri Southern (Oct. 9) - his fourth highest such output. The four-year starter has caught at least one TD in 11 of his last 12 games and has at least ?ve receptions in 11 consecutive.

No. 2 Northwest Missouri State (10-0, 8-0 MIAA) battles No. 1 Pittsburg State (10-0, 8-0 MIAA) at Arrowhead Stadium in the Fall Classic at Arrowhead III. Kick-off between the top two teams nationally is set for 2 p.m., Saturday, Nov. 6.

2004 Harlon Hill Trophy Candidates
Name Pos Ht Wt Cl School

Antoine Bagwell RB 5-11 185 JR California (Pa.)
Andre Burke TB 5-10 205 JR Edinboro
Marc Eddy QB 6-3 230 SR Bentley
John Kuhn FB 6-1 247 SR Shippensburg
Chris Moore RB 6-0 230 SR Charleston
Jimmy Terwilliger QB 5-11 190 SO East Stroudsburg

Name Pos Ht Wt Cl School
Cory Allred QB 5-11 175 SR Arkansas-Monticello
Walter Curry DL 6-4 268 SR Albany State
Ellis Debrow WR 6-3 225 SR Delta State
Chris Peavy LB 6-2 235 SR Shaw
Luke Samples QB 6-3 235 SR Catawba
Derrick Wimbush HB 6-2 220 SR Fort Valley State

Name Pos Ht Wt Cl School
Matt Birkel RB 5-9 210 JR St. Cloud State
Dustin Creager WR 6-1 198 SR Humboldt State
Lee Marana TB 5-11 200 SO Michigan Tech
Mark Radlinski QB 6-2 228 SR Saginaw Valley State
Chris Samp WR 6-3 215 SR Winona State
Sean Treasure RB 6-1 185 JR Minnesota - Mankato
Darmel Whit?eld QB 5-11 180 SR Gannon

Name Pos Ht Wt Cl School
Justin Allgood QB 6-2 195 JR Central Oklahoma
Drew Beard QB 5-10 175 SR SE Oklahoma State
Chad Friehauf QB 6-7 210 SR Colorado- Mines
Neal Philpot QB 6-4 254 SR Pittsburg State
Jamaica Rector WR 5-10 182 SR NW Missouri State
Daniel Taylor QB 6-1 200 SR Texas A&M-Kingsville
Danny Woodhead TB 5-8 185 FR Chadron

For more information, please contact:

Media Relations Department, Northwest Athletics | 660.562.1118 | Fax: 660.562.1582

Northwest Athletics
Lamkin Activity Center | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468