This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.

Northwest Bearcats

Press Release

Nov. 20, 2010

Pursell, Adams earn all-region honors

Women's Results | Men's Results

WARRENSBURG, Mo.-Northwest Missouri State junior T.R. Pursell placed 10th in the men's 10-kilometer race and junior Angela Adams placed 14th in the women's 6-kilometer race to lead the Bearcats at the NCAA South Central Regional Meet hosted by Central Missouri Saturday. Both earned all-region honors for placing in the top 15.

Central Missouri's men and Pittsburg State's women won regional championships while a pair of Abilene Christian seniors swept individual titles. Amos Sang won the men's race with a time of 30:42.96. Anais Belledant won the women's event with a time of 22:14.43.

Abilene Christian's men's team placed second and will join Central Missouri at the national meet in Louisville, Ky., Dec. 4. Midwestern State and Missouri Southern advanced along with Pittsburg State on the women's side after placing second and third, respectively.

Northwest had high hopes for competing in Kentucky, but fell just short on all fronts. The Bearcat men finished sixth while the women placed fifth. Pursell finished 10 seconds behind the last individual qualifier to advance to the national meet. Nebraska-Omaha's Anja Puc placed second behind Belledant and both took the two available individual spots on the women's side.

A total of 131 women and 116 men competed at the regional meet representing teams from the MIAA, Lone Star and Heartland Conferences. The MIAA placed four teams in the top five on the women's side. The Lone Star took three of the top five spots while the MIAA nabbed the other two on the men's side.

A full listing of Northwest participants, their times and their placings are listed below:

Northwest Missouri State women (189)
14. Angela Adams (22:59.79)
22. Katti Carroll (23:26.58)
41. Jordan Esry (24:08.07)
53. Madison Marshman (24:22.39)
62. Kayli Hrdlicka (24:43.07)
80. Mary Jantz (25:08.18)
89. Jennifer Dittburner (25:18.39)

Northwest Missouri State men (142)
10. T.R. Pursell (31:56.65)
27. Ryan Darling (33:14.14)
33. Zach Layton (33:25.64)
34. Jared Walker (33:26.16)
49. Sean Feehan (33:58.66)
63. Ryan Podjenski (34:17.88)
86. Carl Larsson (34:55.42)

For more information, please contact:

Media Relations Department, Northwest Athletics | 660.562.1118 | Fax: 660.562.1582

Northwest Athletics
Lamkin Activity Center | 800 University Drive | Maryville, MO 64468